Discover nature and promote sustainability in the indigenous community Francisco Alcapán, La Araucanía, Chile



Favourited 130 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    I am Rosalia and with my partner Patricio and family, we live in the farm El Maitén, in the surroundings of the Rukapillan Volcano -Villarrica- in the indigenous community Francisco Alcapán, area of Chilco, locality of Huincacara (Araucanía Region, Chile).
    We have sheeps, chicken, bees, dogs, cats, a vegetable garden and berries. Around, you can find several walking areas, native forests, rivers, lakes, mountains and national parks for discovering.

    My passion is to live in the countryside and to be a beekeeper. I like to live in community, to knit, to promote sustainable social and ambiental proyects, and, to rescue daily the knowledge of our mapuche culture.

    That is the reason why we have an apiarian entrepreneurship, which we started in 2003. There is an apiary with ninety hives, a winery, a harvesting room and a forestal nursey with native species. We produce honey without contamination, and I do feel very proud.

    My partner speaks a little bit of english.


    Me llamo Rosalia y junto a mi pareja Patricio y familia, vivimos en la parcela El Maitén, en las faldas del Volcán Rukapillán -Villarrica- en la Comunidad Indígena Francisco Alcapán, sector Chilco, localidad Huincacara (Región de la Araucanía, Chile).
    En el terreno tenemos ovejas, gallinas, abejas, perros, gato, huerta y frambuesas. En los alrededores, hay numerosos senderos, bosques nativos, ríos, lagos, montañas y parques nacionales para recorrer.

    Mi pasión es vivir en el campo criando abejas y produciendo miel. Me gusta vivir en comunidad, tejer, promover proyectos sustentables sociales y ambientales, y, trabajo en rescatar a diario la sabiduría de nuestra cultura mapuche.

    Es por ello que tenemos un emprendimiento apícola , el cual iniciamos junto a mi pareja en el año 2003. Disponemos de un apiario con noventa colmenas, bodega apícola, sala de cosecha, vivero forestal con especies nativas melíferas y carpintería apícola. Producimos miel sin contaminación alguna, de la cual me siento muy orgullosa.

    Mi pareja habla un poco de inglés.


    Huincacara, 07/01/2019
    Hello, we want to tell you about our first experience as hosts: they were Luisa and Anton, from Lepzig Germany. Although our home is under construction and despite the isolation of the farm, the winter, the rain and the cold, they behaved a thousand wonders. A couple of happy and enthusiastic young people and they faced all the simple tasks that we entrusted to them, which in general were maintenance and preparation of apicultural materials and the raspberry garden. They were able to make long walks to the Villarrica volcano, and through the mountain forests of the area, visiting the Huincacara cavern.
    They met interesting aspects of the Mapuche worldview, such as the New Year of the Southern Hemisphere (Wetripan tu) and had the opportunity to participate in traditional Mapuche loom courses.
    They went out to nocturnal fishing excursions for the rivers of the sector, like the searches of wild mushrooms with which we could create new recipes of kitchen. They are vegetarians, which was not an obstacle, nor was the language barrier.
    Now we wait for a friend from Taiwan, to later incorporate Hernán a good Argentine neighbor. We believe that two French boys will arrive later.
    We invite all the workawayers that walk with desires to know something of the Andean Cordillera near Villarrica, of the Mapuche culture, of our beautiful forests and beekeeping, contact us, because we are eager to know workawayers from all over the planet, Welcome !

    Rosalía Violeta & Patricio

    Huincacara, 01/07/2019
    Hola, queremos contar sobre nuestra primera experiencia como anfitriones: ellos fueron Luisa y Anton, provenientes de Lepzig Alemania. A pesar que nuestro hogar está en construcción y a pesar del aislamiento de la granja, el invierno, la lluvia y el frío, ellos se portaron de mil maravillas. Una pareja de jóvenes alegres y entusiastas y enfrentaron todas las sencillas tareas que le encomendamos, que en general fueron de mantención y preparación de materiales apícolas y del huerto de frambuesas. Pudieron realizar extensas caminatas al volcán Villarrica, y por los bosque cordilleranos de la zona, visitando la caverna de Huincacara.
    Conocieron interesantes aspectos de la cosmovisión Mapuche, como en Año Nuevo del Hemisferio Sur (Wetripan tu) y tuvieron la oportunidad de participar en cursos de telar Mapuche Tradicional.
    Salieron a excursiones pesca nocturnas por los ríos del sector, como la búsquedas de setas silvestres con la que pudimos crear nuevas recetas de cocina. Ellos son vegetarianos lo que no fue obstáculo, como tampoco lo fue la barrera idiomática.
    Ahora esperamos a una amiga de Taiwan, para mas tarde incorporar a Hernán un buen vecino Argentino. Creemos que mas tarde podrán arribar dos chicos franceses.
    Invitamos a todo los workawayers que anden con deseos de conocer algo de la Cordillera Andina cerca de Villarrica, de la cultura

    Huincacara, 07/01/2019
    Bonjour, nous voulons vous raconter notre première expérience en tant qu’hôtesse: c’était Luisa et Anton, de Lepzig en Allemagne. Bien que notre maison soit en construction et malgré l’isolement de la ferme, l’hiver, la pluie et le froid, ils se sont comportés de mille manières. Un couple de jeunes heureux et enthousiastes, confrontés à toutes les tâches simples que nous leur avons confiées, qui sont en général l’entretien et la préparation du matériel apicole et le jardin aux framboises. Ils ont pu faire de longues promenades vers le volcan Villarrica et à travers les forêts de montagne de la région, en visitant la caverne de Huincacara.
    Ils ont rencontré des aspects intéressants de la vision du monde mapuche, tels que le Nouvel An de l'hémisphère sud (Wetripan tu) et ont eu la possibilité de participer à des cours de métiers à tisser traditionnels Mapuche.
    Ils ont participé à des excursions de pêche nocturne sur les rivières du secteur, à la recherche de champignons sauvages avec lesquels nous avons pu créer de nouvelles recettes de cuisine. Ils sont végétariens, ce qui n'était ni un obstacle ni la barrière de la langue.
    Nous attendons maintenant un ami de Taiwan, pour ensuite intégrer Hernán, un bon voisin argentin. Nous pensons que deux Français arriveront plus tard.
    Nous invitons tous les voyageurs qui marchent désireux à connaître quelque chose de la Cordillère andine près de Villarrica, de la culture Mapuche, de nos belles forêts et de notre apiculture, contactez-nous, car nous sommes impatients de connaître les étrangers de toute la planète. !

    Rosalía Violeta & Patricio

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will obtain several benefits, among them, knowledge about an apiarian, social and ambiental project in a mapuche community in the south-andean area of Chile. We protect and work in recovering the diversity of the flora and fauna.
    The Araucania Region has an extense gastronomy, a rich history, barely read, and a constant resistent and reivindication of the mapuche community.

    Obtendrá sin duda numerosos beneficios, entre ellos, conocimientos de un proyecto apícola, social y ambiental en una comunidad mapuche en la zona sur-andina de Chile. Protegemos y trabajamos en recuperar la diversidad de la flora y en cuidar a la fauna; estamos en contacto a diario con la naturaleza.
    La Región de la Araucanía, dónde nos ubicamos, tiene una extensa gastronomía, una historia rica, pocas veces contadas, y una constante resistencia y reivindicación de la comunidad Mapuche.

    Nos gusta compartir, contar nuestras experiencias de vida, recorrer el sur de Chile y creemos en la reciprocidad.

  • Help


    We need help for:
    -developing a camping zone related to the farm - design and construction-;
    -promoting our project in the social networks;
    -working in the forestal nursey and control of silvester pests;
    -designing routes and paths in the native forests for promoting the ecotourism in our community;
    -elaborating designs for the elaboration of construction with native reused wood;
    -managing the apiary.

    Necesitamos apoyo para:
    -desarrollar una zona de camping asociado a la granja -diseño y construcción-;
    -promover nuestro proyecto en las redes sociales;
    -trabajar en el vivero forestal y en el control de plagas silvestres;
    -diseñar rutas y senderos en los bosques nativos para promover el eco-turismo en nuestra comunidad;
    -elaborar diseños para la elaboración de ensambles en maderas nativas recicladas;
    -manejar el apiario.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You will have access to an individual room (with two beds) in the house where we live currently with everything incuded. Also, a shared bathroom with hot water, washing machine, kitchen and three daiy meals.
    We are more than happy to share with your friends and family.

    Tendrá acceso a una pieza individual (con dos camas) en la casa que vivimos con todo incluido (sábanas, almohada, manta). Igualmente, a un baño compartido con agua caliente, lavadora, cocina y a las tres comidas diarias.
    Estamos más que felices de compartir con amistades o familiares de la persona que venga a realizar workaway.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Podrás comer miel a diario y hacer parte de nuestros experimentos y de la familia.

    You can eat honey everyday and be part of our experiments and family.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.6)

Host ref number: 676333379348