Get to know us, share our projects and help us with English in the Center of Asturias, Spain

Country

Spain

new host  

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family made up of a couple (Angel 43 and Andrea 38) and two children (Kenai 11 and Izei 8). We also have a dog (Ari), two cats (Vac and Rayo) and six chickens (which also have names but I don't know them;) Two years ago we left our job, we took our backpack and we went to discover the world as a family of workawayers. We visit various Southeast Asian countries such as Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Cambodia, and Vietnam. From there we flew to Australia and New Zealand where we visited some friends who lived there and back to Europe we were in England, Sweden and Poland before returning to Spain. When we returned for work reasons, we had the idea of traveling this way again as soon as we resolved the situation that brought us back to Spain, but as you know, as soon as we settled in, in March the pandemic arrived and we had to postpone our plans and give a turn to our life ... again. So now the tables have turned and we are the ones who want to welcome people into our home and provide the opportunity to all those travelers who want to stop on their way to meet us. We currently live in a house in Cardeo (Morcín), central Asturias, in a rural area but very close to Oviedo, the capital of the region.


    Somos una familia compuesta por una pareja (Angel 43 y Andrea 38) y dos niños (Kenai 11 e Izei 8). También tenemos una perra (Ari), dos gatos (Vac y Rayo) y seis gallinas (que también tienen nombre pero yo no me los sé ;) Hace dos años dejamos nuestro trabajo, cogimos la mochila y fuimos a descubrir mundo como una familias de workawayers. Visitamos varios países del Sudeste asiático como Singapur, Malasia, Tailandia, Camboya y Vietnam. De allí volamos a Australia y Nueva Zelanda donde visitamos a unos amigos que vivían allí y de vuelta a Europa estuvimos en Inglaterra, Suecia y Polonia antes de volver a España. Cuando volvimos por cuestiones laborales teníamos la idea de volver a viajar de esta manera en cuanto resolviéramos la situación que nos trajo de nuevo a España, pero como ya sabéis, nada más instalarnos, en marzo llegó la pandemia y tuvimos que aplazar nuestros planes y darle un giro a nuestra vida....otra vez. Así que ahora las tornas han cambiado y somos nosotros los que queremos acoger gente en nuestra casa y brindar la oportunidad a todas aquellas personas viajeras que quieran hacer un alto en su camino para conocernos.
    Actualmente vivimos en una casa en Cardeo (Morcín) el centro de Asturias, en una zona rural pero muy cerca de Oviedo, la capital de la región.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We try to lead a quiet life, spend a lot of time with family and enjoy our friends. We like to live in contact with nature but we do not renounce the cultural life that the city brings us. We love meeting new people who make us see things from another perspective, enjoy different meals, conversations, experiences and points of view. In our trip we have met really different and wonderful people and even with some of them we have established a good relationship of friendship. We offer good conversation and good food in a beautiful setting.


    Intentamos llevar una vida tranquila, pasar mucho tiempo en familia y disfrutar de nuestros amigos. Nos gusta vivir en contacto con la naturaleza pero no renunciamos a la vida cultural que nos aporta la ciudad.
    Nos encanta conocer gente nueva que nos haga ver las cosas desde otra perspectiva, disfrutar de diferentes comidas, conversaciones, vivencias y puntos de vista.
    En nuestro viaje hemos conocido gente realmente diferente y maravillosa e incluso con alguno de ellos hemos entablado una buena relación de amistad.
    Ofrecemos buena conversación y buena comida en un entorno precioso.

  • Help

    Help

    Our idea is that the person who comes speak in English with our little ones (and also with us) since they are very interested in continuing to learn the language and we believe that the best way to do so is to live with it. This is the main idea right now, but of course there are a lot of things that can be helped with as help at home, in the garden, with animals, children, etc. On the other hand, we have an ecological agriculture training project in schools in the region where you could also help out if you are interested. And in mind we have another project to build our own house in a meadow close to the current one. We are interested in it being a sustainable construction with little environmental impact. That is why we have thought of a yurt. In turn, we would also like to build other smaller ones to serve as tourist accommodation. So things that as you can see there is no lack of things to do.


    Nuestra idea es que la persona que venga hable en inglés con nuestros peques (y también con nosotros) ya que están muy interesados en seguir aprendiendo el idioma y creemos que la mejor manera de hacerlo es convivir con él. Esta es la idea principal ahora mismo, pero por supuesto que hay un montón de cosas en las que se puede ayudar como ayuda en la casa, en el jardín, con los animales, los niños, etc.
    Por otro lado, tenemos un proyecto de formación de agricultura ecológica en centros escolares de la región en la que se podría también echar una mano si se está interesado/a.
    Y en mente tenemos otro proyecto de construcción de nuestra propia casa en un prado cercano a la actual. Estamos interesados en que sea una construcción sostenible y de poco impacto ambiental. Por ello hemos pensado en una yurta. A su vez, nos gustaría también construir otras más pequeñas para que sirvan de alojamientos turísticos.
    Así que cosas que como veis no faltan cosas que hacer.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a two-story building, although our house is on the second floor. It is not very big but it is cozy and has a large terrace. In addition, the house has its own garden with an organic garden. The accommodation we offer is a room with a large sofa bed. We use it for guests, but it is used daily by children to play, paint, read ... It is also my sewing place (Andrea). It is not a totally individual room since it is the only one that has access to the terrace, but whenever there is someone occupying it, we try to respect privacy as much as possible. With the subject of food we have no restrictions; We eat almost everything, but mostly vegetables, fruit, cereals and fish. But if there is someone with some kind of intolerance, we have no problem changing some habits. We all have breakfast and dinner together (the children make lunch at school).


    Vivimos en un edificio de dos plantas, aunque nuestra casa se aloja en el segundo piso. No es muy grande pero es acogedora y tiene una amplia terraza. Además la casa dispone de jardín propio con huerto ecológico.
    El alojamiento que ofrecemos es una habitación con un sofá cama grande. Nosotros la utilizamos para invitados, pero diariamente es usada por los niños para jugar, pintar, leer... También es mi lugar de costura (Andrea). No es una habitación totalmente individual ya que es la única que tiene acceso a la terraza, pero siempre que hay alguien ocupándola se intenta respetar al máximo la privacidad.
    Con el tema de la comida no tenemos restricciones; comemos casi de todo, aunque sobre todo verdura, fruta, cereales y pescado. Pero si hay alguien con algún tipo de intolerancia, no tenemos problema en cambiar algunos hábitos. Desayunamos y cenamos todos juntos (la comida del mediodía los niños la hacen en el colegio).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Being a rural area it is necessary to have a vehicle, although there is a public bus that passes two or three times a day and the stop is right in front of the house. This bus takes you directly to the city, Oviedo, about 15 km from home. From there you can take the train or bus to other cities in Asturias such as Gijón (30km) or Avilés (40 km). Asturias is a region with incredible landscapes, with sea, mountains, great beaches and beautiful trails just a few kilometers from home and with very good communications. Of course, the person who comes can join in all the activities we do. It will be a member of the family.


    Al ser una zona rural es necesario disponer de vehículo, aunque hay autobús público que pasa dos o tres veces al día y la parada está justo en frente de casa. Este autobús le lleva directamente a la ciudad, Oviedo, a unos 15 km de casa. Desde allí se puede coger tren o autobús a otras ciudades de Asturias como Gijón (30km) o Avilés (40 km).
    Asturias es una región con paisajes increíbles, con mar, montaña, playas estupendas y sendas preciosas a muy pocos kilómetros de casa y con muy buenas comunicaciones.
    Por supuesto que la persona que venga puede unirse a todas las actividades que realicemos. Será un miembro más de la familia.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Tenemos wi-fi en casa que funciona muy bien

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Cualquiera que viaje en autocaravana o furgoneta es bienvenido. Tenemos sitio en el jardín para que pueda aparcarla y también tenemos un prado cerca de casa donde podría estacionar sin problema.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    No nos importa aceptar animales, pero no podemos hablar por nuestra perra o nuestros gatos. Igual a ellos no les gusta tanto la idea :p

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nosotros!!!
Vistas desde casa
La terraza
El huerto en el jardín
A 15 minutos de casa andando
Host ref number: 673695854755