Help to teach our children about culture of other countries and for them to share their own culture with others in Sorrento, BC, Canada



Favourited 64 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a family of White Lake, BC (considered Sorrento, BC). There are 5 of us, plus our dog Edna, our cat George, 24 chickens, our 2 goats, Lucy and Daisy.
    My name is Jeannine and I am mum. I work from home with my own business and my husband Liam is on the road a lot with his own water business. We have 3 very active kids who are involved in numerous sports and activities. Our oldest son, Tate who is 11 years old is very passionate about hockey and also plays lacrosse in the spring. Our daughter, Charlie Lou who is 9 years old is in competitive gymnastics and loves her music lessons. Our youngest son, Tucker who is 6 years old is very active and loves hockey as well.
    We live on a 5 acres that is right across the road from White Lake and we are on the corner where White Lake meets Little White Lake. From our backyard there are numerous hiking and biking trails as well a bike park and a frisbee golf course. The lake is more marshy than the Shuswap Lake but is the cleanest lake in the area. There is boat access for kayaking and paddle boarding. The big lake, Shuswap Lake, is 10 minutes away and the main city centre is Salmon Arm, BC which is about a 25 minute drive.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our family is so excited to learn from around the world and to teach our children about culture of other countries and for them to share about their culture with others. We have an amazing property with lots of outdoor activities to take part in from hiking, biking, swimming, kayaking, boating, fishing, sledding, skiing, ice fishing, skating to the local events in our area. These may include farmers markets, musical festivals, live bands and other local events.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We would need help with the goats, pony and chickens on a daily basis. Cleaning out the barns and coop. We are also in the process of cleaning up the property so there would be numerous outdoor jobs including helping build small structures like decking and fencing and landscaping. Inside jobs would include light housekeeping, occassional meal prep and maintaining a clean home for our 3 children and some mild child minding as our children are old enough to entertain themselves but would need supervision for a swim or a bike ride.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    There is a bedroom in our unfinished basement that includes one queen size bed and one single bed. There is a large dresser with open closet to hang clothes. From this room there is also a door to the outside so you can come and go from there if you like. We prefer you to become a part of our family and use the main door. You will have a shared bathroom that the family does use. Breakfast and lunch will be on your schedule or with the family and dinners will be the same for everyone (considering food aversions of course).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will be able to explore our local area with your time off right from our back door with nature surrounding us. I am in town at least once a day and do not mind taking you there to explore the local city. We also have friends in town that have workaways staying with them if you want to connect with other travellers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 673648822343