Help needed for my continuously evolving lovely wildlife garden / haven in the spa town of Malvern, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 310 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    help needed in June

    I am a semi retired lady living in a sympathetically renovated Victorian house in the lovely quiet spa town of Malvern in Worcestershire. The area is known for it's fruit growing and farming and in Malvern itself we can fill up our bottles with the lovely pure spring water free. If you like walking up the hills, this is the place to be. I now have 1 x dog - Sox, (she is from an English charity who was very abused and needs lots of work! I love animals and feed all sorts of wildlife on our walks together, foxes, badgers etc. I have spent a few years now doing the house up to a very high standard and have loved every minute of it but I now need a garden to match! The house is high up, set into the hill and the views from the top of the house are stunning!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Although I do not live the traditional family British lifestyle, I chat to my workawayers about it including our culture, food etc. Workawayers will learn about very good animal care, gardening and all about types of high standard house renovation. If I and my workawayer get on well (which is generally how it is), I invite my workawayers on little outings and they will see some of our beautiful country. I am a chatty happy well travelled person who gets on well with most people.

  • Help

    Help

    I offer 2 weeks at a time (or longer my calendar permitting!) and try and give appropriate tasks to my workawayers keeping in mind strengths and muscle power. The garden is my priority but there is still other work to do in the house (when it's raining or cold), painting (I am a perfectionist, I will show you how to paint properly) etc. but I've now finished the major jobs indoors apart from a few tweaks here and there. I have now started on the garden which has been untouched for some time. I want to turn it into a little haven with nooks and crannies for wildlife and also make a raised vegetable garden, little paths, a pond etc. As the house is placed on a hill we have just put in a side path. Workawayers continue the digging and moving of shrubs etc.! Still a lot of moving things and cleaning of garden ornaments etc. I have had some AMAZING workawayers and several have returned to me. I look forward to seeing them again but I am honest in my descriptions so that you know what to expect. Obviously all the outside work depends on the weather so if it's too cold or raining the work will be inside e.g. painting, sanding down, filling in etc. It's a happy household and I often take my workawayers out and about after chores etc. so you'll get to see quite a lot while you're here!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, French, little German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If actors are staying with me my workawayers have the other double room until they've gone. It's very nice and you still have your own bathroom on the bottom floor to yourselves. I'm told I'm a pretty decent cook. is a very comfortable single bed in a double room on the top floor of the house so can be a quiet little escape if you wish for quiet time. The views from the room are stunning and it's named "The room at the top" as I often have actors/actresses stay with me. Both bedrooms have been completely renovated but still in Victorian style but unlike the Victorian period they are extremely light and sunny rooms (my having put a HUGE picture window in 'Room at the Top' to bring the views into the room. It is ensuite (toilet and sink) and modern wetroom on bottom floor is your shower. This is absolutely a NO SMOKING house, not even in the garden! You have the use of a bicycle whilst you're here so you can get out and about for yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Malvern is a quiet very leafy Victorian town built into the Malvern Hills. The much larger City of Worcester is 6 miles away and easily accessible - 10 minutes by rail or 1/2 by bus. London is approx. 2 hrs away on the train (direct) with Oxford about an hour away, on the same trainline. Birmingham (the 2nd largest city in the UK!) is about 3/4 hour away by train. I live very close to the train station (5 minute walk) and bus routes and there are plenty of shops here as well as a few bars, restaurants etc. Definitely a place to stay if you love walking or trekking. We have a cinema, a theatre and a fabulous Abbey in town. You have the use of a bicycle whilst you're here so you can explore yourself.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 per day Monday to Friday

Help needed in May to continue helping me construct a lovely wildlife garden / haven in the spa town of Malvern, England

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 673374175491