Help with horses very far from the city in New York State, Western New York,

Country

United States

Favourited 861 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1972

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Family owned farm with 30-40 head of horses, five cats, two corgis, a shorty jack russell, a goat, a duck, a cockatoo, a longhorn, peacocks and many chickens. Caring for these are the main chores for the work aways. If you are game we have bee hives you can learn to keep. In addition to the animal chores we make our own hay, involves driving tractors and heavy lifting of hay into trailers (frequency dependent on the season and weather). A huge part of the daily operation of the farm is preparing the horses for the trail and wagon rides. To finish the day we love a good camp fire with s'mores.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We work hard here, the workawayers who have enjoyed their time the most here have initiative, jump into all tasks and ask questions! We also offer different opportunities for learning, some things are learning to drive horses, trail classes, soccer with horses. The work is hard but satisfying, at the end of the day learning that even hard, dirty tasks aren't all bad when people work as a team and keep a sense of humor!

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Our days are always different, there is not always a plan except for chores so you need to be flexible and go with the flow! We are open for trail rides 7 days a week, all by reservation. We have about 35 horses here, 2 cows, chickens for eggs, dogs and cats so there are barn chores twice a day, everyday. Some days are long, especially during haying season, usually June, July and August. Some days are shorter, may only involve barn chores and then other activities during the day, perhaps organizing and cleaning the barn or attending an auction, maintaining fence lines, gardening, mowing etc.

    We take guests on trail rides, when workaways arrive we will have a riding interview, depending on how that goes and your ability to communicate clearly with the guests will decide if you qualify to be a guide. If you qualify to be a guide and are designated one on a ride you can keep your tips. Tips are split equally between guides, if money is an issue for you we are probably not a good fit. It is all about the experience! We also have local guides so rides are divided. Something to note, we also only walk the horses.

    We are a happy, hardworking group of family and friends looking for happy people who can work as part of a team and independently. We do not have co'ed housing at this time so females only please.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camper, bunkhouse shower and laundry available. Daily meal are provided at the Ranch, if we are out and stop for a meal you will need to pay for your own meal or you are welcome to take a meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The crew are Dolly and Jim (the profile picture) who are animal lovers always bringing in strays. They have worked with horses their whole life and enjoy sharing their passion for animals with all their guests. All the horses are rescue horses who enjoy their new home and job. Holly (Dolly's twin) is the final member of the crew she trains the work awayers on how to tack the horses with a Western saddle and how to guide a trial ride, she also has a crazy Macaw Lana who always provides you with a laugh.

    We are about and hour and a half from Niagara Falls and if it's important we try to get our workawayers to the falls during their stay. We have a local pool within bike riding distance. There is no public transportation so any activities other than on the ranch are arranged privately. We can take up to four workaways at one time and prefer you stay for a month and over. We ask you complete and return our "confirmation documentation" to lock in your stay with us.Your spot is not confirmed until we receive the "confirmation documentation" and travel details. We will not hold spots for you unless we have this information. We need you to get a bus from Buffalo to Salamanca or Olean NY. We do also have numerous fairs and rodeos during the months of July and August.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Varies, 7 days a week some long, some short.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)













Host ref number: 672328455362