Come and help us on our off-grid countryside property in Maella, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 16 times
  • Last activity: 6 Oct 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Come and help and learn on our family farm. We are not a business, we are a family of three living in a small country house on a big piece of land in hills of nothern Spain. We live here fully off the grid and try to live of the land. All our energy comes from our solar panels and we collect rainwater. We have vegatable gardens, fruit trees and . We also have some olive fields where we try to make our own olive oil.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an area where there are not many foreigners and Spanish and a Catalan dialect are the main languages. It's a chance to see the real Spain in a rural location. There is plenty of opportunity to practice Spanish if that is what a workawayer wants.
    Workawayers will experience a slower pace of life in stunning surroundings. We have plenty of wildlife to see, such as hoopoos, polecats, eagles and foxes. In late spring we hear nightingales! There are many local fiestas normally which if you want you can get involved with too!

    - you will experience the real Spanish rural lifestyle with the Spanish language .
    - you learn organic farming
    - you learn how to run a off grid property, with solar power , own water source , composting toilets etc.
    - learn how to help in a vegetable garden and with fruit trees.
    - learn building skills on a farm.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    On our Finca we have place for a couple of volunteers.
    We need help for different tasks on the farm, we all do this on the organis way.
    Maintain and harvest the vegetable gardens
    Pruning and harvesting fruit, olive and almond trees
    Weeding and clearing land
    Cutting wood for our wood stove

    We also need some help with some construction.
    We are building a new wood shed, animal shelters and a porch.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We offer the volunteers a own or shared room in the house,
    You will prepare the meals together with our family, we grow a lot of our own vegetables.
    We eat together with the family

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our village has limited public transport links. We can collect from Calaciete which is served by a good bus service. See for details. The nearest train station is Caspe(see )
    This area is rich in historical monuments from the time of the Iberos. We are 120km from Zaragoza. Buses go regularly from Maella and Alcaniz if you want to explore more and from these 2 towns onto the rest of Spain. Public transport is cheap as it's heavily subsidized.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 672254593686