Looking for Kendo instructor, Japanese language tutor and violin teacher in Corfu, Greece

Country

Greece

new host  

Favourited 2 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey, I'm Spyros and I live in Corfu an island in western Greece. I'm hoping to find people that can teach me the following:

    Kendo, I practiced that for a while when I was at uni and loved it but since I moved to Corfu I haven't done anything as there are no kendokas here, hoping to find someone to teach me the nessecary skills to pass 1st dan.

    Being a fan of Japanese culture I have also studied a bit of Japanese so a native or a non native fluent speaker would be great. Languages are my hobby (half my degree was in the linguistic department), and I enjoy all aspects of language learning.

    I was actually planning to move to Japan and study these things there but covid messed things up.....

    Last but not least, I'm looking for someone that could teach me how to play the violin. Bought one , plus a teach yourself guide , but it doesn't seem to work:))

    I've practiced tai chi in the past and I have an interest in reiki, yoga and qigong so I'd like to meet people who can help me with these.

    In return I offer accommodation, (private room) , share homemade organic meals and also Greek or English language practice (studied at a UK Uni).

    I work as a jeweller/antiques restorer, and I do quite a lot of work with crystals and gemstones so if you have an interest or ability in this field, I could share my knowledge with you.

    Thanks for reading and I wish you all the best with your travels!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to experience corfiot culture first hand, live in one of the most beautiful greek islands, practice languages. In in addition I'm a keen hiker, so while you're here you'll explore and see the best places that Corfu has to offer.

  • Help

    Help

    Teach me Kendo (ideally you would have at least 1 Dan. And / OR teach me Japanese (native speaker or degree holder). Teach me how to play the violin.

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner
    Japanese: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room in spacious flat at a quiet seaside area of Corfu city, next to a small forest and a beach (pictures attached). The flat rules are very simple: everybody cleans up after themselves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Since my request involves learning, I prefer to host people who are interested in longer stays.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 671539681279