Family looking for some help with work on our home and land, near the beach in Luquillo, Puerto Rico

Country

Puerto Rico

Favourited 208 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    643

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband Mark and I have 2 children living at home (19 and 16). We live on 6 acres of land with 2 homes on the property. One of the homes is used as a Vacation rental and the other is our home. We have chickens, a dog and 2 cats. We have a lot of work to do on our main house and the guest house as well. We have just finished a cabin for volunteers and we are trying to cultivate the land as best we can. Mark is an artist who is also working as a Manager at a restaurant in one of the near by resorts. I am a Montessori school teacher. We work 5 days a week and in our free time dedicate to the Guest House, property and our children.
    Our children are active and are teenagers. they both surf, love the ocean and like to hike in the rainforest. They also love to learn about other cultures and people.
    We ask that you provide us with certain information and your commitment before you arrive.

    *️️️️️️ Proof of Round-trip ticket
    *️️️️️️ Travel insurance.
    *️️️️️️ Copy of passport
    *️️️️️️ Must have no criminal record
    *️️️️️️ Non-smoker
    *️️️️️️ References from previous volunteer work

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn how to work on the land and to help others. You will have many opportunities to learn how to surf and visit local hot spots.

  • Help

    Help

    *️️️️️️Putting up a barbed wire fence around property. *️️️️️️Constructing an Eco safe sanitary system*️️️️️️Painting Houses. *️️️️️️Sealing roofs. *️️️️️️Making a veggie garden. *️️️️️️ Planting trees. *️️️️️️ Digging ditches for water drainage to prevent erosion on the land. *️️️️️️ Teaching my children how to play guitar. *️️️️️️Cutting grass with lawnmower and trimmer also use of a machete. *️️️️️️Creating trails for walking and possible mountain biking. *️️️️Establishing a permaculture garden *️️️️️️Making cement sidewalks around houses. *️️️️️️Minor masonry work. *️️️️️️ Minor carpentry work *️️️️️️possibly driving my daughter to her classes *️️️️️️helping at the farmers market *️️️️️️ helping out at the local dog shelter *️️️️ Helping neighbors with projects
    We are learning and open so we welcome any ideas or projects that you may like to share.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    comfortable cottage with 2 bedrooms. A full sized bed and a twin bed. Cottage has working kitchen and bathroom. Living room has a couch with 2 hammocks.
    The bathroom was constructed around a tree and we use a compost toilet. There is no hot water in cottage.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our family loves the beach so we go to the beach pretty much everyday. My son Loves to surf and competes in surf contests so going to the beach is a daily thing. We live within walking distance to the rain forest so we enjoy the rivers and trails in the forest. My son works for a local Bio bay company and works in the evenings. My daughter is into the performing arts and goes to class every Wed. evening from 6-8 for dance and acting classes. I do not have an extra car to provide but I can take our volunteers to the town everyday and the beach as I am going down the mountain everyday. We provide basic breakfast and lunch items for you to make on your own, I also provide dinner. I ask that you join us for dinner so that we may get to know you and your culture.
    We are a family on a tight budget. When I take the volunteers out on outings I can not afford to pay for food or entertainment or other incidentals, I can barely afford my own children's cravings or wants. There will be plenty of food at home that you can pack or please have money available for any food or drink you want to purchase while you are out of the house. The children and I like to go to the movies. We are lucky that the movies on our side of the island only costs $6.00. We would love to have you tag a long if you like.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week















Host ref number: 671253711696