Join our special little town in Samara, Costa Rica.


Costa Rica

updated   Last minute

Favourited 277 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We are a small family of 4 originally from Switzerland. We have moved to Samara in Guanacaste, Costa Rica in serach of a big adventure. Philippe (40 ) a passionated chef who`s dream it is to run his own restaurant. Celia (32) originally from Angola but also grown up in Switzerland speaks about 6 languages and is the sunshine of our family. Shane (4) years is very happy he can enjoy the nature of Costa Rica and all its diversitys of animals, surf the beaches and of course run around barefoot. Ferdinand (1) is our Dobermann. He looks impressive but is completly harmeless and as cuddly as a cat. The Restaurant is still in construction ( things in Cost Rica take a little longer then elsewhere ) but is 80 % built. In the meanwhile we have started a little foodbike running in Samara that is working so well we hardly can meet the needs. „ With a little help of a friend“ we can create some amazing things. For that reason we have rented a big house with all the amenities about 5 minutes by car outside of Samara. We are a very open minded and a multi cultural family. You will be a full member of the gang and we will warmly welcome you to Samara, our family and help you out with what ever needed.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Samara is very special little town thats still far away from big hotel chains. There is a lot of wonderfull beaches, surfspots, monkeys, iguanas, pisotes and many other cute animals all over.
    There is a massageschool, 2 language schools and Celia know for the delicious cakes she sells in town is very well connected with the residents and can bring you in contact with the locals. You can learn spanish, how to surf, what it means to be Pura Vida. Be part of an expats livestyle help realize some dreams. You can learn cooking, how to build up a business, starting from scratch, be a creative mind or just have a great time in Costa Rica.

  • Help


    Lets build a SMMA together. We offer a lot of cultural understanding. Local connections. lovely beaches. massage and language school. Are full of postitive energy and passion. Its a real workaway no payment 5 hours a day max. we have all the amenities. Pura Vida my friends.


    You are a creative Mastermind full of passion. Dreaming big. Ideally you have your own equipment and skills with a drone. You would be in charge of all our online presence. We have some ideas we would like to bring in to a brainstorming. You are free to express your creativity and art in this project. We are driven by passion have great ambitions a lot of discipline as well as zero online marketing skills. lol. We would support you in any way we can and welcome you as a part of our family and hopefully work together in the future. We could start this adventure by Feb. / March 2020 we are very flexible and open minded.


    If you love children, are very patient and like to play around. We would really apreciate your support in our little family. As we are building up a new restaurant from scratch we will be working alot and probably very late too. You would get Shane from school bring him to the restaurant maybe go to the park or the beach for a hour and later pick him up at the restaurant and bring him to bed and make sure he sleeps like a angel until we come home. He is lively but very uncomplicated and cute. He speeks english, swiss german and is learning spanish at the moment. If possible do some small household tasks. We would provide you with a bycicle to get around town, toys ;), a cute little friend, a room in the house with all the amenities. Basic food as rice beans etc. as well as a place in our family and our hearts. Your new home will be ready from oktober 2019 on open end...the busiest time for us is November – March (high season ) for us the best would be at least 3 month..

    The longer the better ;)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German / Swiss German / French / English / Spanish / Portuges / Italian

  • Accommodation


    There is different rooms some shared some not. As well as a shared bathroom a big living area and kitchen too. It is quiet and has no direct neighbours. On the property you can see monkeys coatis and a lot of other funny guys. From the roof balcony you have a wonderfull seaview. We will provide you with basic food like rice, beans, etc. that you can prepare the way you like them.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a family with a kid. So it will probably not be the party hostel. We are humble and believe that we are all one. We expect you beeing respectfull and tolerant as well as we will be. As we are a few people from different places living all together under one roof. In your time off we would suggest that you find out how many grains of sand you can lift with one toe. Or how salty the seawater really tastes. If your able to balance a surfboard over the waves. make a bonfire at the beach, snore a way in a hammoc or count the monkeys in the trees.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 668996663762