Join our family sailing across the Pacific, Mext stop Colombia

  • Favourited 277 times
  • Last activity: 21 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a British family who are travelling around the world on our sailboat, a Moody 46 called Gambler. We left the UK in September 2020 in search of adventure, cross-cultural experiences, more sustainable living and an alternative childhood for our two girls aged 7 and 10 years. From Aug 2022 we spent a year land travelling Latin America and left our boat in Grenada. We returned to the boat at the end of October and are now in Colombia, heading to Panama in February and aiming to cross the Pacific via Galapagos from March onwards.

    Please read our profile FULLY before getting in touch with us :-).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to sail around some of the most beautiful places in the world. You will be immersed in nature and outdoor living and will have the chance to do a huge range of water sports in stunning locations. You will have the opportunity to deepen your knowledge of sailing and liveaboard life how to sail. Get ready to cross oceans, visit new countries and discover the realities of "living the dream".

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are ideally looking for energetic and enthusiastic person or couple to join our crew aboard SV Gambler, participating in our daily family life and adventures.

    Our big goal for 2024 is to cross the Pacific and we are looking for an individual or couple to join us from Panama to the Marquesas in French Polynesia via the Galapagos islands.

    Our new crew member will:

    - Be super friendly, fun, easy going, self-starting, independent, clean & tidy

    - Be experienced in sailing, not suffering seasickness, able to take a nightwatch, well aware of safety and sea survival

    - Be willing to contribute to daily chores on the boat as part of our team (mainly cooking and cleaning although you'd be more than welcome to get stuck into boat maintenance and upkeep if you are interested!)

    - Be keen to be involved with our kids - helping them with school tasks, having fun, playing games and organising activities, sports and visits when we are near land. Ideally will have experience with kids in prior jobs or projects.

    - Be a nature lover and an adventure person who loves exploring, hiking and water fun.

    - Speak fluent English but ideally also Spanish as we wish to keep up our advanced Spanish language skills.

    We will be crossing the Panama canal in late February and sailing to Galapagos (7-9 days) in early March. We will enjoy Galapagos for 3 weeks before heading on the long passage (21-25 days) to Fatu Hiva in the Marquesas, French Polynesia.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be accommodated aboard our Moody 46 sailing yacht and will have a bedroom in the forepeak (double). Our boat is a 46' monohull which sleeps 8.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As you will see from our Facebook profile (search SailingGambler), we are an active family, love exploring historical sites and enjoying nature. On our boat, we are experienced and conservative sailors and safety is the highest priority. We have strict rules regarding what can and can't be done on the boat (often for safety reasons) and the Skipper's word is final - so we need crew coming onboard to understand and respect that.

    We appreciate people who are highly communicative about their needs and what they can / can't do - so a high level of self-awareness is helpful. We are passionate about learning (us grown-ups always have some kind of learning project on the go) and we love to see our children discover new thing. As such we welcome ideas from our crew, and new skills and areas of expertise to be introduced to us - so if you have something great to teach us that's fantastic!

    As we live in a small space and are together A LOT of the time, finding personal space on the boat (reading books / listening to music etc), and on shore (going off exploring alone, going for a paddle board etc) is important. We will encourage crew to disappear, explore for themselves and enjoy their personal time discovering what the local country has to offer.

    Please note that because of intermittent internet access, we may be slow to reply to you. Sorry in advance!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 665283484683

Feedback

Enjoy and help with an ecological project in a beautiful place on the Caribbean coast, Bocatocino, Colombia
Hi dear friends, we are looking for some Marketing and social media skill in Cali, Colombia