Help out with coutry living and pets and in South- West Finland

Country

Finland

updated   Last minute

Favourited 122 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    90

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everybody,
    I am an artisan/enterpreneur. My fiance works in construction building. I work from home. We have a dog and 2 cats.
    I have a special interest in eco living with a small garden and I grow seasonal vegetables and tomatoes and hope to be more self- sustained in the future.

    My country house is an 80 year old elementary school built pre WW2 so it is not a typical Finnish house but I love it and try to improve it a bit by bit. We use composting out door toilet as part of our eco living strategy and encourage our visitors to do so, too.

    We are heading for winter now so there will be less gardening but pending on weather, there are still some tasks to do outside: building a traditional fence around veggie patches, planting tulip bulbs and getting the garden ready for winter. It would be a great bonus if you can manage a medium size ( 30 kg) dog and walk him daily as I am waiting for a knee replacement and sometimes walking is a bit of a challenge for me.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am fluent in English, (but not a native English speaker) so you can practise your English during your stay with us. You have a possibility to learn to bake and make Finnish cinnamon rolls and traditional breads.
    If you are interested in herbs, you can learn about them in the potagerie with traditional Finnish garden plants. We can take a trip to Torronsuo National Park, where we can enjoy the famous bog land of Torronsuo bog. There are possibilities to see wild life: birds, squirrels and white tailed deer not too far from the house. Sometimes you get a glimpse of elk running in the forest! During early autumn we can go walking in a nearby forest to pics berries and make traditional blueberry pie.
    We have a traditional 80 year old sauna ( bathing house) you can experience washing up in the gentle warm steam if you want to try it.
    While we are big fans of old fashioned living, life in Finland today is almost impossible, or at least very difficult without mobile phones and the web. In a perfec world we would be off the grid, we try however, to find a balance between modern and traditional ways of living.
    Please notice that the way of living may be very different from what you are used to at home and 'seize the day' and enjoy your workaway adventure while you are a volunteer at our house.
    We welcome you to stay with us heartily!

  • Help

    Help

    Autumnal tasks are mentioned above.
    We Finns ( =people living in Finland) live very closely with our pets, cats and dogs. We keep them inside and interact a lot with them. In Finland pets are considered valuable members of the family, so we hope you like animals. And of course that you are interested in slow country living. We live a quiet life but days can be very busy at the same time. We look for persons who show initiative and are easy going.

    Our shedules are flexible so you must be able to handle last minute changes in daily routines, they can happen - for instance work in the garden is always pending on weather so I plan our days according to it.

    Cooking family meals together is a nice way to get to know each other. I eat a lot of vegetarian food but also enjoy some chicken, fish and red meat, locally sourced, and we eat dairy products almost daily. Our veggie food is local, I do not buy a lot of imported food stuffs.

    Please note, that due to global warming, we tend to get a lot of rain during autumn and windy stormy days also in the beginning of winter( November-December) . In the mid-winter ( January- February) temperatures can be anything from +1 to -29 Centigrades Celsius.
    In the winter time we need help with snow shoveling (and scraping ice and snow off the car) and with putting sand to the drive way to make it less slippery. There is also a lot of fire wood carrying..;)

    Extreme living in the winter
    If you want to join us for a workaway adventure in November-February, please remember to pack warm winter shoes suitable for Nordic weather and a warm jacket. The rooms in the house are relatively cool in winter( around +18 centigrades) so a pair of warm pajamas and a pullover will be needed. We have a lot of warm wool socks and mittens! :) For old fashioned extreme winter living you can use the composting out house also in the winter time or try our 80 year old sauna for a relaxing steam bath.

    Daily life
    Myold house, a little rough around the edges but has a welcoming heart, is a never ending continuous project . So if you are looking for a 5 star accomodation our life style is not for you. You will help out with small tasks inside and out. Also just daily life in a big house ( cleaning, cooking, grooming cats/dogs etc)
    You may want to try traditional crafts, baking bread, or cinnamon buns, knitting or a bit of sewing etc. I am a big fan of re/ up-cycling so old pieces of furniture, thrift finds etc can find a new life in the house with a little bit of work.
    My fiance bought a little town house with a garden not far from here so we spend some time in the town, too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Finnish, Swedish, English. Very basic Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A shared room with a water kettle.
    Limited shower room use at the other end of the house. During the coldest part of the year it is possible to use indoor toilet/shower. In March -November we use composting out door toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearest railway station, apr. 20 km. Nearest large city is Tampere, about an hour drive from here (70 km ). Tampere has some interesting and high quality museums, sights, shops etc. There are lovely paths for walking in the woods, you can even see deer in their natural habitat only 10-15 minutes walk from the house. A variety of birds live on and around the estate.
    You can borrow a bicycle from the house and bike around the village. In the summer time we have a nice weekly out door farmer's market circa 4 km from here.
    There are a couple of small public beaches for swimming nearby ( one a lovely pond in the middle of a forest ) and a disc golf park. It is possible to visit Torronsuo bog and go trekking at Torronsuo National Park if you enjoy out doors.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day (max 25hours, 5 days a week)

Traditional perennials bloom in front of the house.
"My first ever apple pie!"
Visiting the Pyynikinharju Ridge Sightseeing tower in Tampere.
You can go for a morning swim to this lovely pond surrounded by spruce trees near the house.
Here you can easily spot white tailed deer, rabbits, squirrels and a variety of wild birds.
Visiting a cat cafe in Tampere with a workaway volunteer of summer '17.
A happy workaway volunteer of 2017 helping out with making of raised bed frames for the potagerie( kitchen garden).
Stacking fire wood in the shed is on the summer to do-list.
We are looking forward to meeting you!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 664766838466