Help us improve the biodiversity of our small organic farm at the foot of the Jura mountains. Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

Favourited 66 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 25 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are living in a small farm, 250 years old, beside a river, at the foot of the Jura mountains.
    We are two adults ( Véronique 42 and Pierre-André 56) and our daughter, 11. We work as a veterinarian and journalist, and as accountant. Three horses, a mule, some sheeps and a dog live on the farm. We are nature lovers and sportive people, who like trail running, skiing, wandering, horse riding!
    We are trying to increase more and more the biodiversity of our piece of land and are trying too to accrease our autonomy in food production (organic vegetable).
    If you have some skills in permaculture project, we would be interested to develop it on our farm.
    People who like nature, outdoor sports, hiking, will be at the right place. But we are also near some interesting cities with lot of museums and a lot more!

    We prefer short stay of about one week

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about organic gardening, taking care of horses and sheeps.
    You will also share the day-to-day life of a swiss familiy and practice french if you want to.
    We will show you the best places in our area, whatever you are interested in!

  • Help

    Help

    We need help for improving the biodiversity in the horses and sheep pastures, like planting trees, doing new fences to preserve some places from grazing, creating nests for birds, etc.

    We also need help for organic gardening and to increase the biodiversity in our garden.

    We are interested in the cultural exchange, in the possibility for us and our daughter to meet people all over the world, to practice languages (english, german, spanish).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french, german, english, a lit bit of spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own big room in our house, with seperate bathroom and possibility if wanted to cook for itself.


    We prefere to share meals alltogether. If you would like to help cooking sometimes, it is welcome, so that we can learn new receips from your country and vice versa! No problem for veggie people.
    We cook our own bread and try to eat mostly our own vegetables.

    Please no smoker.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time, a lot of different activities are possible, sports, cultural life, etc. Switzerland has a lot to offer on a small territory.
    A train station is 20 minutes on foot from us, good connection with the airport of geneva.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 663565872591