Language Cooking exchange. Help with teaching music and cleaning at a Brooklyn Townhouse in NY, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 434 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our home is a place where people from many countries come and go, so there's always someone new here, with a new story to tell if we only listen. I love to cook, work on handy projects, learn new languages, improve the little musical skills I have, workout and sports, and of course travel. I have always tried to gain weight so if you cook too, that would be fantastic! One of my goals for this year is to gain more muscle :) Or teaching to play a musical instrument! We have a few in our house already.
    If you speak something besides English as your mother language, that's even better! This is important because I'm very enthusiastic to learn new languages and cultures. Call me Teddy or Joseph as you prefer, sometimes Teddy doesn't sound right in other languages or translate well haha.

    My house is 2 blocks away from the subway station in Brooklyn. We have strong wifi, a big kitchen, and you can sleep in relative privacy out of the view of other others.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You could learn new ways of cooking, languages, photography, gardening, swimming, basic martial arts and basic latin dancing, building, decorating, basic guitar. I used to be an English teacher so I am happy to help with new English speakers. Of course you have all that New York city has to offer right outside your door. I have a gym membership that allows me to bring friends.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    I think for initial or short term stays, you can just cook and handle the food primarily :) I love trying new things from different countries but I'm not picky. If I am gone traveling away from the house expect to do more cleaning help, or that we decide on a long term stay then there are other ways to help and be compensated for your efforts as well! Just let me know your background and past experiences and what you can do, for example If you have musical ability please let me know! Also I have some plants that need to be cared for, and maybe help with my young photography business if you have any experience with that.
    Be a person that makes the house cleaner not more dirty after using it. Depending on what language you speak, language lessons :D And of course have fun! You should be an organized, warm, and welcoming person, trustworthy and responsible. Also let me know what your dreams and aspirations are, it may be that I could help you with them as well, who knows.
    Also If you have the gusto for it, organize a game night, movie night, or cooking night for everyone in the house.
    The hours are flexible.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a bed that is kept hidden and private behind a bookcase and/or a separate bedroom depending on availability and how long you stay. Separate isolated bedroom not guaranteed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you will cook a meal for the day, I will pay %50 of the grocery receipts that you buy in the local market. Just snap a pic of the receipt and I'll pay you back %50 at the end of the week :) I came up with this plan because we don't live on a farm growing food but in a New York City apartment, and I'm not asking you to work the same large amount of hours that you would in a farm setting. There are many grocery food markets a couple minutes walk nearby. The subway train is 2 blocks away from the house and Manhattan is a 25-40 minute ride (time depending on destination) away by Subway-- We are in Brooklyn in a very safe and convenient neighborhood. There's a nice little park nearby with tennis and basketball courts and jungle gyms. Also there are 4 nice gyms within walking distance! I like to go kayaking and other things around the city and always welcome fellow adventurers! I have two bikes you can borrow and also a yoga mat. Looots of spices for cooking :D Feel at home :) I prefer to meet in person or at least do a video call first before promising anyone that I will accept them.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 662846389354