Be my room mate for a while in my home in Athens, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 162 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    65.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a Greek American retired psychotherapist. I grew up in Athens, Greece, studied in Zurich Switzerland and lived for 40 years in Los Angeles, California. I live most of the year in a two bedroom penthouse near the center of Athens. I go the gym everyday, I have lots of friends, and I love writing. I'm interested in politics. Love the theater, and film and TV. Swimming, walking and travelling.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am retired psychotherapist. We can talk about psychology, sociology, politics, economy, etc. I have been in clinical practice as a psychotherapist in Los Angeles, for about two decades and I have then taught the profession of psychotherapy in a Master's program for 13 years. I am always interested in human life and hanbsociety. I am also interested jn culture and attend a lot of cultural events in Athens. In the role as a companion, the person can share in attending some of these cultural events, and also going on short excursions in other parts of Greece. I have also written a political column for ten years in a Greek financial newspaper, analyzing the issues of the unification of Europe and of the debt crisis in Greece and in Europe.
    I am also a gay man, and I hope that you are comfortable with different life styles of people. I am an open minded person and I welcome the life styles and belief systems of all people. In fact I enjoy meeting people who are very different and learn from them and our differences between us.

  • Help

    Help

    I love company, but not round the clock, and I can use some help keeping the house clean. The person will be more like a flatmate than anything else. Company is my main interest and cohabiting with someone. Though I am 74 year old man, I am a very healthy and active person and do not need any physical or other assistance. I am good with washing dishes and cooking. But I hate sweeping and keeping the house clean, though I do hire a professional cleaner on a semi regular basis. I am not a slob, but also not a clean freak.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate bedroom. Part time use of my car. I will be paying for all groceries. And cooking will be done by both myself and the flatmate, as need and as desired. It is fibe for each one of us to cook just for ourselves or cook for joint meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Athens is a fantastic city, lovely, cultural, fun, beautiful beaches , lots of night life, and day life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have good internet connection at home. Unlimited.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 661749488329