Hemingway had a pleasant stay too ... Hürtgenwald in Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 36 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greetings from Hürtgenwald in Germany,
    we are living here as a couple in its 50s (she is a schoolteacher and he a metaldesigner) on the edge of the rangy woodland of the so called "Eifel" in westerly Germany.
    Nearby are the borders of Belgium and the Netherlands and the cities of Aachen and Köln are not far from here.
    We hold an estate of 7000 squaremeters, featuring 4 small and cosy houses which are partly rented, as well as several sheds and workshops.
    The property consists mainly of woodland and features spectacular views of the far away lowlands, where in a distance of 40km, the well known "Rhein" stream runs hidden in a slight haze.

    Languages: English, French and of course German.
    Cooking: vegetarian (mainly controled organic cultivation) or self catering

    We like to keep balance between privacy and community. with our guests.

    Sorry for not providing personal photos,- too much indiscretion on the internet for our taste.
    Let's have a talk first!
    Please understand.

    We are looking forward to your visit!
    R.K.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The following subjects are important to us and always worthy to discuss:
    - literature
    - art
    - psychology
    - philosophy
    - nature
    - ecology
    - politics

    Knowledge in the following subjects can be communicated:
    - craftmanship in general (for example gardening, forest operation, all issues of
    house construction and maintainance)
    - craftmanship metal at professional level (designing, constructing, welding and forging)
    - classical chant at professional level

  • Help

    Help

    You have to expect to be charged with:
    - gardening
    - woodworking
    - renovating/ constructing projects
    In addition, we would appreciate if you would contribute your special personal skills, as far as needed!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide accomodation in one of our small houses, with private garden area.
    The house will be reserved for the guests and features your private living- and bedroom, kitchen, bathroom with toilet and utility room with washing machine.
    During summer, the swimming pool will be at your disposal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Frankly, public transport connection is not very good.
    The bus stops are 0,5 and 1,5 km from here.
    The next mini market is a 1,5km walk away.
    Occasionally, we will provide you certainly a lift down to the nearby city of Düren, which is a 10 minutes drive from here.
    For example to the center of Köln (with its famous cathedral), it would take you 1 up to 2 hours including a short walk, change from bus to train and waiting time.
    To the city of Aachen (residence of the ancient franconian imperator Carolus Magnus) it will take you almost the same.
    Instead of that, the woodland begins right at your front door: The so called "Hürtgen Forest".
    Now peacefully, had it been nevertheless the arena where the showdown between the US-Army and the Krauts during the last winter of WW2 has taken place.
    This period of history is still visible in landmarks and is still somehow alive.
    As I said before: Hemingway ...
    All this is to be discovered, as well as the nearby valley of the small Rur river with its spectacular sites, lovely views and quiet (should I say dull?) villages.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    negociable

Host ref number: 657427196363