Enjoy an enriching experience teaching our family about your culture and language in Makoshyne, Ukraine

Country

Ukraine

Favourited 75 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1449

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 68 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Workaway's community! my name is Oleksii and im 26 years old young man.
    im coming from north-eastern Ukraine and now mostly during the spring/summer/autumn time active within different social, volunteering, youth projects(mostly in Germany, Ukraine, Belgium and Turkey).
    I believe and support the idea that environment (and learning process which created inside the groups and teams active in those particular environment) has a huge influence on our personalities.im excited when we bring people from different parts of the world to live, work, cook, learn, plan together; - in order to create very intensive form of interaction where each individual responsible for collective success and joy of the group, where we make a step out of our comfort zone, trying to learn from each other and embrase a concept of "we" instead of "me".
    Now i realized that workaway can be a platform to continue practicing those princepless, but in a bit different form, - through experience within a smaller group, - in family. So invitation of a workawayer to our village(where part of my familly lives) can be this type of learning environment for my family as well(as unfortunatelly they do not have access to the learning possibilities i have as an active young person). And wiseverse i see it as a great opportunity for workawayer to get dipper in traditional Ukrainian and in a same time post-Soviet Union culture(with all those plusses and minuses).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can get a perspective of rural life in Ukraine, find your inner peace in spending lots of time around nature, work with different mannual tools if You up to this, spend a time with "little human being" =) and learn out of this experience

  • Help

    Help

    there is Makoshyno village, where part of my family lives on a permanent bases. There is a gerden there which requires help during spring-autumn time. There is a 3 years old baby who will be happy to play with people who passioned and patient about joyful personal development of little human being, and there is other relatives who would be glad to learn a little bit more about outside world(they have never been abroad, apart of traveling around Soviet Union in their youth times) and practice their poor level of english

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    ukrainian, russian. And very basic english when im not in the village

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    its a house with 3 rooms(including living room). And invited workawayer will be accomodated in a living room at the big couch(which is actually comfortable enough even for couples, but its just im simply not sure we need more than 1 person to provide them valuable involvement ina life of family), which of course will not provide You 100% of personal privacy, but if You dont need a privacy - than its quite large space for You, your belongings and your personal activities. And during the summer time its really lovely to sleep outside with a tent in a garden, so if You up to this idea - im sure it will be nice experience.
    Also You have to count that toilet is outside of the building.
    Regarding the food - we will cook and it together. Our family is not vegetarian, but it will not be a problem to cook two separate dishes when family are cooking something with meet or fish(any way they are not everyday meet-eaters..)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    the village is surrounded by beautiful nature and stays on a river Desna which was described and showen by world famous filmmaker Oleksandr Dovzhenko(he was born and rised in a village which is located on other coast of river).
    the train station connects village to the bigger cities and even provide opportunity to continue your trip directly to Belarus. There is also one and only prison in Ukraine aimed for civil and govermental servants, so may be for people who relate their trip for some social/political interests/investigations it could be an interesting spot for research.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 656113498136