Come live with an English family and help with general house and garden maintenance in Aquitaine, France

Country

France

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I am from London, UK and I originally moved here to help out my mum for a year, that was over 4 years ago now!

    I live with my fiancée, 17yr old step-son, my mother and 4 dogs, 1 cat, several chickens and ducks. We are an openly proud Gay/Queer family, which surprisingly doesn’t make us bad people (lol), we are open, friendly, fun-loving and love to meet new people, learn about different lives and cultures and make new friends - I mention this as some people are not comfortable around awesome people like us, so if you happen to be homo/queer/trans/etc-Phobic, then please note that you will not be very comfortable here.

    We live in a rural area, about 30 minutes South of Bergerac airport, with local shops and towns nearby.

    I have just started a new business venture, so this doesn’t leave me with a lot of extra free time to work on the house and garden - There are plenty of things to do both inside and outside the house!

    In the summer months there are a lot of things to do and wonderful places to see, unfortunately, without a vehicle it is very difficult to get to a lot of places, however, where possible, we are more then happy to show you around should you wish to explore some of the wonderful sights. We can also have a couple of bicycles available should you want to go off and explore the area.

    PLEASE NOTE: As I don’t get a lot of time for emails etc it can take me 3/4 days to reply to initial message;, please be patient as I will reply to anyone (and everyone) that messages :-D

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Elderly Companionship
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an english family living in France, we speak english in the home, but my fiancée and step-son speak fluent French, so we can help you with the french and english language and if you fancy something a bit more fun, then I can teach you some cockney, which is always good for a laugh!

    My fiancée has recently qualified as a reflexologist and also does Reiki and Indian head massage and always welcomes more people to practice on, which also makes a great way to relax after a day in the garden!

    My mother can take you back to the old days of London with her wonderful memories and anecdotes of her childhood and young adulthood, giving you an insight to what it was like to be born in London just after WW2, where rationing was still very much in force.

    There are always many festivals, fetes, fairs, markets and so-forth going on in and around the area, we are more than happy to take you and show you around (where possible) or drop you off to explore as you wish.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with a range of activities, although we have many projects on the go or in need of help, most will be general house/garden maintenance.
    We are currently putting the finishing touches on our ground floor conversion, our small hobby homestead which is always an ongoing project, update and renovate the inside and outside of the house and garden, so having an extra pair of hands would be a massive help as I have to do most of it myself.

    Some of the projects we need help with:

    Pruning, weeding (brambles are my nightmare!)
    Some land clearing and preparation; we wish to start a veggie patch and we know where we want it, it just needs clearing.
    General D.I.Y.
    Painting and decorating, inside and outside.
    We have a donated porta-cabin that we wish to convert into chicken house, we now have it in place but it needs a new floor fitted and sectioned off inside - We also would like to paint a countryside scene on the outside (so it won’t look so ugly!) So, if there are any artists that fancy a somewhat different project, come on by!
    We also have some building/renovating, plumbing and electrics need doing so anyone with previous trade experience, would be particularly welcome.

    In the summer we tend to do most of the work in mornings, so you will have the afternoons and evenings to relax, explore or find some adventure.

    As we both work, there will the occasional times where you will be left to your own devices, my mother is almost always in the house should you need anything.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have converted our ground floor into a self contained living area, it is nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. You will have your own bedroom (double bed) and bathroom, also a basic open plan kitchen (should you want to prepare and make your own meals) and living room with Netflix and Amazon Prime, unfortunately, no regular TV channels, however if there is a program you just can’t live without, you can always join us and use the TV and sky box in the living room upstairs.
    Would suit a single person or a couple.
    Although you will be on a separate floor, we still share the same the house and we expect people to be respectful and to keep it clean and tidy.

    We eat a varied diet, we can cater for both vegetarians and meat eaters, although we don’t eat a lot of meat, they are healthy and fulfilling meals which we would love to share with you at mealtimes, if you like cooking and learning new recipes, we are happy for you to help in the kitchen. Mealtimes are are flexible and we will provide 3 meals per day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will need to have a love of dogs to survive a stay with us (lol) We have 3 adults and 1 puppy (a VERY naughty puppy!!) who is at present (22nd July) 13 weeks old. All 4 are extremely friendly and just want you to love them, the biggest dog, Podge; thinks she is only 2kgs and a lap dog! The smallest, Bruno; thinks he is a great dane with a heart to match, the middle one, Nellie; is our little fairy princess and the puppy, Jasmine; is a loveable ratbag that gets into everything and nothing is safe!!!

    With much to see in our own little village, there are always many festivals, fetes, fairs, markets and so-forth going on in and around the area, many have quite the historical background.

    Closer to home, we have La Lac Cancon, which has a lovely restaurant and bar, live music on a Friday or if you fancy a swim on a hot day, a little further and you will find Lac de Lougratte which has a lovely swimming lake with a nice sandy beach and BBQ areas.

    As we are in an area without public transport, people with their own transport would be particularly well suited as we can not always promise to take you on exploration trips. As mentioned above, we can also have a couple of bicycles available should you want to go off and explore the area.

    You will need work clothes, protective shoes and proper work gloves and do remember a hat or cap for the sun. Please ensure you have your health insurance and tetanus jabs up to date.
    As mentioned we eat a varied diet, but if you have special dietary requirements including any allergies, please check that we can accommodate your needs before joining us.

    Whilst we like to accommodate many nationalities we ask for a good level of understanding of spoken English and or French. You will be using tools regularly so you must be able to understand instructions, your safety is important to us.

    Before confirming your visit, we always prefer to have a live chat by WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger etc, so that we can mutually evaluate what we expect from each other and see if we get along and therefore hopefully avoid any mis-matching.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week Maximum

Susan with one of the horses at work
Myself & Susan playing with filters lol
A evening view from our garden
Sunset over one of the local lakes
One of our first chickens, Beauty
Finally got some ducklings!!
Me with my dog, hogging the camera as always lol

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (4.5)




Host ref number: 654725923319