Help us with looking after our horses and other farm animals while enjoying countryside in Bohola, Ireland

  • Favourited 179 times
  • Last activity: 28 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are a German/Irish family of 5 living in Co Mayo in the West of Ireland. Our children are 21, 18 and 17. We have a small equestrian yard with showjumpers and Icelandic horses. We also have goats, pigs, cats, chickens, dogs. Our dogs and cats are living in the house with us. We enjoy going to the beach as a family, sometimes we take the horses. We love watching Gaelic football and going to matches. We are a very busy and active household but enjoy sitting down as a family in the evening to have dinner and watch a movie or play games. We live roughly 8km from the nearest town with a big supermarket, bus connections, football pitches and golf course. We also live 15/20 minutes from Ireland West Airport.
    We also have a Hot tub and a small pool.
    Ireland is still in the EU, EU citizens do not need a VISA.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a German/Irish household. As part of this everyone in the house speaks Germans and English. Ireland has its own native language which is Irish this is also spoken in small amounts in this household.
    We can teach basic German and Irish to anyone who is interested as well as helping them to improve their English.
    We are actively involved in Irish sports, such as Gaelic Football. Gaelic football is a native Irish sport that is a mixture of basketball, soccer, rugby and volleyball. We imported our Icelandic Horses from Iceland. Icelandic horses have 5 gaits, walk, trot, tolt, canter and pace. Horses are a massive part of Icelandic culture, and we fully embrace that.

  • Help

    Help

    We mostly need help with looking after the horses. This would include mucking out, cleaning the yard, feeding, turning out, helping to organise for horse shows. Riding is also available for the right person.
    Other small jobs would include helping with the smaller farm animals, general farm maintenance and gardening.
    There are plenty of odd jobs such as DIY, fencing and miscellaneous tasks that come up as part of a running working farm.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Irish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    2-bedroom mobile home with internet on site. Shower and bathroom in the main house. The use of the kitchen is available and the option of having meals with the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are a lot of things do to around the area. There are plenty of beaches withing an hour's drive. There are lakes, rivers, forests, golf courses and plenty of mountains to climb. The local town has a gym, football pitches, a running track, library and cultural center.
    For transport there is a train station 20 minutes away, an airport 15 minutes away and lots of bus stations nearby. However, for people over 25 there is the option of one of the family cars.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have very good internet connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of space for a campervan.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 654183672652

Feedback (7)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Light garden tasks in a historical mill and art studio in Kilmeaden, Ireland
Experience life in Ireland and develop skills, while helping in the house and garden in Kildare, Ireland