Small farmhouse in the countryside and 10 mins walk to an Italian large village in Tuscany




Favourited 399 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I am a single mum, english by birth but have lived for 25 years in Italy. My daughter studies in the UK.
    Now need help with chestnut picking and olive picking, fence post planting and wood preparation for the winter.
    I live in the country just outside a village called Castel del Piano. I have one dog, one cat and two horses. One of the horses is a 7 year old gelding and needs some training and daily contact , the other is his mother and is retired. I also need help with fencing, moving and stacking wood and daily chores of animal care.

    From our house to the village it is ten minutes walk. The village has everything basic that one needs. In winter seeing as we live also on a mountain, it's twenty minutes up to the ski slopes and in summer one hour away from the beach, that's in the opposite direction. Pubblic transport is bus and can take you to the nearest cities like Grosseto (45 minutes), Florence (2 and a half hours) and Siena (one hour and a half). Rome(3 hours and a half) by bus and train, the station in Grosseto. I am almost vegetarian but eat fish, cheeses and rarely anything. We havn't got a television but have unlimited internet.

    I am quite quiet and enjoy being outside. I am english and speak both english and Italian. I have an old house, nothing where I live is modern, but it is also not too old !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Slow italian life in a small country town.

  • Help


    Check horses for water and give thwm hay. PIANTI NG WALLS. Collecting wood and stacking it for the winter. Maintenence and building of wooden and electric fencing. Walk dog and feed dog and cat.
    I need also help with ORDER in the house and selecting things to throw away both in the house and cellar.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, and italian

  • Accommodation


    Bedroom with a single bed , or two singles pushed together to make a double and a shared bathroom. Lots of books.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can practice english or learn italian. There are beautiful views and walks you can enjoy. It is not to busy and rather peaceful. You can go to the sea and you can slow down and have a taste of italian life and cooking. You have a very flexible volunteer hours and there are lots of historical sites ranging from prehistorical man to etruscan, roman and medival times . You can also enjoy the raw nature of the maremma with places to see such as mount amiata, giardino di spuerri, giardino dei tarocchi, bagno s filippo, monte labbro, arcidosso, seggiano, abbadia s salvatore, santa fiora. There is a river to swim in in the vally.
    You can sit in the Corsini cafe and have a very good coffee and cake. Choose from one of the many restaurants in the village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day (max 25 hours per week), can be more hours in one day and can be a weekends !!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 652737198343