Old Farm/Wilderness Equestrian Campground/Ecotourism Business requires knowledgeable and physically fit assistance..

Country

Canada

Favourited 199 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/05/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a pretty cool and well educated 54 yr. old, starting an equestrian campground, bales and bunkies business on my farm. It is a mountain side old farm in need of some restoration in the fences, fields and barn. The farm is situated on the east side of Algonquin Park in Ontario. The area is full of old mountain hills and valleys. With much in the way of public land, lakes, rivers and wildlife in it.
    Basically the services I will be providing are for people who own horses and wish to travel and camp with them in order to explore new country side. Any one can camp or stay here if they wish as the area has plenty of fishing opportunities, white water rafting and kayaking, canoeing, swimming etc., I will be building 4 cabins, a round pen, and several paddocks. Another component of the business will be guiding and outfitting (if not this year for outfitting, next) I also have a cottage on a sand bay beach at a large lake 10 minutes away. There will be ample opportunity to visit it during the summer and fall. I also have a pontoon boat offering lake and fishing expeditions and may need someone to drive it from time to time. A Canadian boaters operating card/license is required for anyone to operate a boat in Canada, which I believe you can get online. I work in a variety of jobs being self employed. I also work as a Supply Teacher in the local school board. I have 3 dogs, a cat, 3 horses and a donkey at the farm.
    I am easy to get along with and very eager to learn first hand about people of every culture. I love music and art, and nature and have many other interests including exploring areas and being a tour guide for everyone in the areas I know about. I am not a tidy housekeeper so if disarray disturbs you, you may not be interested. There are also blackflies and mosquitoes here so be prepared to deal with that.
    Most work at this time involves occasionally feeding and watering the animals, getting the barn in order, and helping in the house as well as fencing. I had the farm rented out for a few years and the whole place needs to be cleaned up and reorganized as a result of this.
    I am a practising Roman Catholic so if you need to get to a church(it is near Madonna House retreat and training centre, which is a worldwide organization which helps people in need), I can most likely get you there, or any other church/religious affiliation,if you have the desire to attend.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    I am hoping to encourage a kind and animal savvy individual/couple who have had experience around horses and people and know how to ride horse as there may be a guiding/outfitting component to the work as well as setting up geocaching spots. At the very least there are horses to ride for those who have experience.
    Knowledge on utilizing a mid size older tractor and it's implements.
    Some cleaning up of property, painting
    Driving water up hill to cabins and campground
    Carpentry skills would be such a great gift to have here.
    There are times that I may be away for a few days here and there, so the helper must be able to work well on their own.
    I am hoping to get a root cellar built in the side of the hill, horse pen built, trails made and cleared, a couple more cabins built etc.,
    Every day should be slightly different, and days/times that you wish to work can be flexible.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the winter there will be a bedroom available in the house.
    Summer very private 10x10 Bedroom bunkie (double width bunk bed and couch) will be built for use.
    facilities at the cottage can be arranged.
    Public beach 4 Kilometres away
    Use of canoes/kayaks, horses and what ever else the clients utilize, helpers can also use with advance notice. Trips to town (20 mins. away) can be arranged.
    Food arrangements/stipend will be discussed depending on the number of people who are helping.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is 4 hours from Toronto, 2 and 3/4 from Ottawa.

    There is a bus 10 minutes away on a provincial highway. The Maynooth/Arlington Hostel is a 20 minute drive from here. Pick up and drop off can be arranged.

    Friends would be welcome for short visits, and maybe, can be encouraged to join in here and there.

    Smaller families are welcome however there are inherent dangers on a farm, near livestock,equipment and water for younger children.
    We would have to discuss your family composition and decide from there.

    You should have a tetanus shot before you work on any farm.
    This is work for physically tough and strong people. Not for the faint hearted as you will be in a wilderness type setting.
    Help on the farm would be needed from June until late October. Any periods of time between that would be welcome.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours a week.

Host ref number: 651498977132