Looking for an extra pair of hands around our family developing an eco-project in central Portugal.

Country

Portugal

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family developing an eco-project in central Portugal. We have swales and a food forest, a big eucalyptus Forest and we are rebuilding an adobe house making our own bricks and poles. We have a small green garden which we care for very much and some strawberries to bright the day. We are placed 20 Km away from the big waves of Nazare and on the very heart of Ribatejo. Our projects is bigger then we have hands for it so we are in need for help inside the house with some domestic shores and outside in our project with watering and general care of the food forest and the green garden. We like to think our project as a small farm, trying to produce our own food as possible and a place for social education and cultural exchange. We were hosts to a festival on September 2018 and currently working on 2019's! A lot of eco-building and artwork!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange is one of the most significant aspects of modern education. There are some local village events and we are promoting monthly events at the farm. We are near Lisbon and about 30 km from the coast. We believe that by living with us, the volunteer will enjoy a quite place with an extended family which gathers often to work in different projects. We are not experts but we try our best with eco-buildings, food forest synergistic gardens and other ecological practices.

  • Help

    Help

    We will mostly need help with domestic shores like cleaning and cooking in a fair and communal way and with the maintenance of the green garden. Easy shores such as watering and pulling some weeds.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    They will have a private room with own bed and closets. Bathroom is shared

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With the time off travelers may go to the beach by bus or arranged between us, Lisbon is about one hour away going south. Portugal is a very small country with lots of places to see and its not needed much time to get everywhere

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 651339911364