Looking for person to help in our family living on a croft on the Isle of Skye.


United Kingdom

Favourited 192 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️ Looking for someone during the periods (flexible) 15/12/2017 - 07/01/2018. Preferably a female. *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    We live on a croft we are slowly returning to woodland. We grow vegetables and run a self-catering business of three units.

    We are a family of 4 with 2 girls, 11 and 17. The older girl has special needs, can understand spoken English but uses sign to communicate. She is at a Camphill School during the week, so just comes home at the weekends and holidays.

    We are a musical family (traditional Scottish/Irish music) although the youngest has her own very wacky (and original) taste in music.

    We live in a crofting community on the Isle of Skye. Duncan is a learning technologist and I am a teacher/artist trying to get my studio going again! We are fairly easy-going and like a good laugh!

    We take really good care of anyone staying, however it is important to us that the person is a 'self-starter' .

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Isle of Skye is steeped in the history of clan feuds, ruined castles, crofters struggles with landlords. There is the ancient Gaelic language which is spoken in parts of Skye, and the Gaelic College where you can learn it! We both play traditional music so you will get exposed to this played live with our friends. We have friends who offer mountain guiding as well as other outdoor pursuits, and nearby there is a kayaking school run by a world-famous kayaker Gordon Brown. You would be able to borrow one of our vehicles to go sight-seeing.

  • Help


    We have plenty to do, gardening, cooking, general housework, walking the dog.

    If you can relate to our older daughter who has special needs, that would be a bonus. (She understands spoken English and she has a great sense of humour).

    It's important that you are a self-starter who looks for tasks to do as we don't always have time to make a list!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    A small room in our house. You share our living area too, but we're cool if you want your private space. Usually people eat with us, and we try to include you in musical events going on in the area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's probably best in this rural location, if you can drive and have experience of driving on the left side of the road.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The hobbit house
Duncan & Susan playing at a party
The rear view
The house "Tigh Eachainn"
Ashaig beach, just 10 minutes walk!
The house and barn with the islands of Scalpay and Raasay in the distance
View from the house
Boat trip, a minute later the wind took Duncan's sunglasses!

Host ref number: 648326531389