Looking for a helping hand on the east coast in Djúpivogur, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 343 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/01/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi hi. We are a family of four and we live on a farm on the east side of Iceland. We are 41 and 37 years old and our daughters are 9 and 5 years old. The nearest village is Djúpivogur, 17 km away, and in the area live around 450 people. We live here in a company with others and they live in another house.
    On the farm, we have a lot of animals we have 500 sheep, 50 cattle and a few dogs.
    We are looking for someone who wants to experience Icelandic farm life and help around with the household and the kids.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will experience a quiet life on an Icelandic farm and get a chance to be a part of an Icelandic family and get to know Icelandic habits and more.

  • Help

    Help

    We are mostly looking for someone who can do a little bit of everything, help around the house, helping taking care of the children and other tasks that needs to be done.
    We had volunteer before and the children really liked it. Both of the younger girls like playing outside and are really easy to get along with.
    We are looking for a volunteer that is willing to participate in our daily routine.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare room in our house.

    Preferable no vegetarian/vegan persons thanks, we prefer people that can eat the same Icelandic food as we do.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the area there are many beautiful places to see.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours max

Our farm
This is the view from our house







Host ref number: 647157138612