Smallholding in North East Bulgaria.




Favourited 250 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  • Description


    Thank you for reading about us and our place. We moved here in April 2012, swapping hectic lives in the UK for a more natural pace of living, in a beautiful part of the world.

    Our main criteria for helpers is enthusiasm and a general willingness to 'muck in', those bringing laughs with them have gifts we will welcome

    We are a (mainly) organic small holding attempting to be self sufficient. We are growing our own fruit, veg and animal feed, preserving food by various methods, have lots of fruit trees.

    Lomtsi is a beautiful village halfway between Popovo and Razgrad. Most of our neighbours are Bulgarian self sufficient farmers and everyone is really friendly and welcoming. There are beautiful walks all around the village and a couple of bars and shops.

    We are ex-helpers ourselves, during which time we learnt a lot and met some great friends. Having experienced the other side of the coin we offer to provide you with good wholesome evening meal (we rarely eat breakfast and lunch, with the emphasis being on the evening meal, breakfast and lunch materials are available though), the opportunity to join us on trips out, the use of our bicycles, internet access and most importantly - an enjoyable experience. We can pick you up from Popovo or Razgrad when you arrive.

    We still use a long drop toilet when working outside, but now have a fully functional kitchen, bathroom, and washing machine.

    It is really good fun and hopefully you will learn many life skills, mind you hopefully you can teach us a few also.

    We are native English speakers but Paul speaks some French and German. We are learning Bulgarian slowly.

    We look forward to welcoming you to our home.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Any helpers enter our home as guests, and as such are invited, whenever possible, to join in any social activities we undertake.

    Because we are a small holding and doing renovation works there are a wide range of opportunities available. We try our best to make sure people achieve their goals, as well as helping us build our dream

  • Help


    We ask volunteers to give a 25 hours per week, normally over 5 days, and help with meals and cleaning up. Help involves assistance with house renovations, planting/harvesting crops, helping in the garden, processing food, house and animal sitting if we go away.

    2019 was a challenging year for us and I (Tracey) am still struggling to retain my sense of humour. 2020 will hopefully see us spending more time working on our home and less in hospitals. We's like to see more areas of the garden, brought into attractive productive areas, rather than squeezing crops into random cleared areas. This is going to involve much earth moving, the construction of pathways and hopefully the construction, and planting of a crate wall. Towards the end of the year, once crops are harvested from some areas we'd like to get some more raised beds built. However, at this time, we are taking things day by day and if you do come to help us, you may find yourself house sitting.

    We have decided not to start any more 'big' house projects concentrating instead on adding the finishing touches to those past projects which were completed to a stage that made our home liveable.

    Lower down the priority list is rebuilding the barn, which will involve taking down a kerpitch (adobe) wall and reconstructing it without its current slant, building 2 new internal walls and a new front wall (it was wooden) before roofing the whole area, this is dependant on us earning enough to pay for the materials, as sadly something that can't be done using purely reclaimed material we have on site. This is now unlikely to happen in 2020, due to finances

    At certain times of the year we would ideally like to host someone we are comfortable enough with to leave as caretaker in our home a few days at a time, this would require someone with excellent animal skills, responsible, mature and capable of showing initiative. Any helpers we do feel comfortable enough to leave in our home will not be asked to do additional jobs during this period, although we won't say no if you insist.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    We are native English speakers but Paul speaks some French and German and Tracey speaks a little Russian. We are learning Bulgarian slowly.

  • Accommodation


    Own room in main house. All other facilities shared. We are unable to accommodate vegans.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please when contacting us, list what and where you feel you can be of assistance and we will tailor our days to suit your talents and expertise....!!! It also assists us in making sure we have materials necessary on site.

    We look forward to welcoming you to our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours per week

Nicky with the shou shugi ban shingled wall
This is our winter project, build a new back door and create a replacement ceiling/floor for the hallway.
Used the opportunity presented by a major fire to create a mezzanine with vaulted ceiling
View from the housse, spring 2012
Animal compound and fodder fields
Animal compound, house in background
Some of the rabbits
No rake? Make one.
Before we'd straightened all the vine supports.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 644195941216

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more