Come and join an easy-going, creative and busy small family in San Francisco Bay Area, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 608 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    547

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an easy-going, creative and busy small family living in Novato (Marin County), just outside of San Francisco. My daughter, Lila, is 14 and my son, Sacha, is 23, and away in London, where he was born. I am a documentary filmmaker and lived in London for seven years before settling in the San Francisco Bay Area. We have done several dozen house exchanges in France, Italy, Spain, England, as well as Costa Rica and Mexico, and besides London, I've lived in Hong Kong, Florence, New York, Los Angeles, and a small village in Scotland. We have a crazy, spoiled, and wonderful Mexican street dog who we brought home from one of our trips, and a very friendly cat, Lola!

    You REALLY have to like animals to stay in this house, as they have sort of taken over.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have lived in many places and have traveled extensively. I love sharing my culture and home with travelers. Our family is warm and welcoming , as is our home. We like to show foreigners that America is better than the horrid man currently living in the White House.

  • Help

    Help

    Above all, I'm looking for someone to help with some local driving and dog-walking, primarily. But also would love an enthusiastic cook or gardener or computer help is another possibility. My daughter is too old for a babysitter, but she still needs rides to school and the like.

    Please send some information about yourself, your travels, length of desired stay and Workaway experience.

    Enthusiastic, responsible, friendly, NON SMOKING self-starters, please contact us! MUST be pet-friendly.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Sunny private room with shared bath.

    The house itself is in Novato, in Marin County. The house is big, and lovely, and we have a beautiful garden with redwood and palm trees.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    San Francisco is a half hour ferry ride away from the nearby town of Larkspur. It takes longer in the car, especially when there is traffic. Our town, Novato, is not the most exciting - it's pretty suburban and boring, but it is near the most beautiful nature, San Francisco, and Sonoma and Napa Valley.

    We have endless hiking and biking in the area and we are lucky enough to live in one of the most beautiful parts of California! We are halfway between San Francisco and Napa Valley.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    approximately 25 hours per week

Not the best trained dog around
Lola is the sweetest cat ever
Our backyard with redwood and palm trees


Host ref number: 643823784879