Gardening in County Wicklow, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 124 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! I live in a beautiful part of County Wicklow at the foot of Carrick Mountain. Its about 50 min drive from Dublin, but longer by public transport, and many attractions in between; Mount Usher Gardens; Powerscourt House and Gardens. I am looking for help in the garden and home maintenance projects. But...

    The accommodation is in Avoca at my Mother's cottage with my supervision and co-ordination. It's not far from Avoca village; the Meeting of the Waters; Avoca Woollen Mills and very close to the Woodenbridge Hotel and Aughrim if you are interested in Irish traditional music you'll find plenty of it.

    I am a musician - a singer and very interested in growing and preserving food, natural medicine and such. My Mum lives alone since my Dad passed last April and could use both assistance and company.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My Mum is Australian. You will learn anything and everything you want to learn because I can facilitate you. I am actively attending workshops on natural healing, nutrition and often attend groups which may be of interest to you. These are musical and cultural too. There is plenty of traditional Irish Music performed in the locality which is well worth the experience!

  • Help

    Help

    I really need help digging garden beds, clearing overgrown areas, weeding, some painting (need experience here) and someone good with a drill. Also indoor projects like sorting and organising; preparing dinners; cleaning windows (yeah, sorry!).
    My Mum could use help with simple projects like arranging her photo albums, processing apples from her trees.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom with bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I can assist with transport to nearest village/bus/train, and take you to local pubs for the traditional music. If I am due to go to an event I will offer it to you. For example I took our last Workaway to the Dublin to see an exhibit that I was attending.
    Our workaways need to have excellent English, because of my Mum's hearing.
    I would like to chat with you via Zoom before making arrangements.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This location has a dongle, which works fine.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a lot of space and an outdoor power supply.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Small dog that is strictly house trained.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours per day Tuesday to Saturday.


Host ref number: 639348444527