Come and help us in beautiful Nelson, British Columbia

Country

Canada

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple of retired teachers living in a heritage house two blocks from the main street in the gorgeous little mountain town of Nelson, British Columbia. Nelson punches way above its weight in activities for both outdoor enthusiasts and culture lovers. We are within very easy walking distance of live theatre, movie theatre, craft brewies and cafes, and an easy walk to mountain biking, and to the west arm of Kootenay Lake.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are two festivals coming up in September that we'll be going to, an antique car festival that takes over downtown, and a garlic festival about an hour's drive out in the country. There are a bunch of music venues, dance options and art options available starting in September. The mountain climbing, hiking, mountain biking communities are easy to tap into.

  • Help

    Help

    The garden is small because we're mostly built on bedrock and have huge shade trees. It needs weeding and a bit of digging. If you're strong and into it, you could rebuild sections of a low rock wall. We're trying to downsize after 40 years in the same house, ha ha. We need help hauling stuff out of the basement, boxing up some, and returning some to the basement. We could use some help housecleaning too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Only English, sorry

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own room with a queen sized bed and a view of the lake. There is one bathroom (that's typical in heritage houses. Originally there was an outhouse only), which we'd all share. We barely cook, so you would be responsible for your own food, but are free to use the kitchen, and we'd clear spaces there for you to store food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Most things are within walking distance, but there is also public transit to neighbouring towns and villages. The hiking around here is very beautiful (around and above three large and lovely lakes), also there are hot pools, and a long, no cost, ferry ride across the other side of the lake. An ashram offers courses, or just visits, on the other side of the lake.
    We are pretty easy to live with and have lived communally a lot when we were young. We expect people to be considerate of each other, clean up after themselves promptly, and not to smoke on the property. We are mostly interested in art and cultural activities, and have traveled quite a lot.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week (No food)


Host ref number: 639179458626