Volunteer in Harare, Zimbabwe

Country

Zimbabwe

Favourited 254 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    After 20 years traveling the world, I came home to settle in Zimbabwe. It's beautiful here...

    Apart from certain challenges of living in the 3rd world, it is absolutely wonderful and we love it. We being my daughter Amber and I.

    We have a beautiful acre plot in Harare's northern suburbs. We live a fairly organic life, growing our own fruit and vegetables, composting, vermiculture, some solar etc

    It is always great to meet people from around the globe and so from time to time we host volunteers.

    I have a business making sweets and jams, and there are always plenty of projects on the go with such a big property, so whatever your interests and talents I'm sure we can find something for you to do!

    Right now I am specifically looking for someone who has experience with websites, SEO and ebook promotion 👍🏻

    I could also use the help of a carpenter, builder, help with packaging and labelling my products, doing taster sessions in the local supermarkets, help around the house and in the garden and there is always painting and other creative projects going on.

    Recently we took on a massive DIY project of installing an underground sprinkler system. We are also setting up a rocket stove, creating a FB page for my business, and my ongoing project of learning to landscape and grow plants from seeds and cuttings in my endeavour to create a stunning enchanted garden 😊

    Next up: making a chicken tractor and enjoying our own eggs! Building a fire pit and entertainment area...

    Accommodation is included in the Workaway.

    Basic vegetarian meals are included in the Workaway. (Mon-Fri)
    Cereal for breakfast, soups and salads for lunch and dinners.
    *️If you would like the upgraded food package, it will cost $5 per day.

    You will be expected to help out 5 hours a day (Mon-Fri).

    No meals provided on weekends.

    The volunteer room sleeps up to 3 people.

    We look forward to meeting you .

    Regards

    Tanya and Amber

    NOTE:
    Airport transfers $25
    Bus station transfers $15
    Half day guided excursion to Donboshawa $10 p/person ($15 single)
    Half day guided excursion to Mbare market $10 p/person ($15 single)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You’ll get a peak into life in Harare that you wouldn’t see as a regular tourist and you will experience and be a part of creating a fully self sustaining lifestyle project

  • Help

    Help

    The kind of help depends on each individual volunteer. Your talents will usually indicate what help you will give, but here are some things I might need help with;

    Websites & SEO
    Carpentry skills
    Building
    Labelling and packaging sweets and jams
    Sales
    Cleaning & ironing
    Cooking
    Painting
    Gardening
    Building
    Internet & social media
    Arts and crafts projects
    Painting murals
    Guitar & singing lessons
    Massage
    Yoga
    Organising
    Accounts

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large room

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus stop 5 minutes walk from the house and for US$0.50c you can get into town. And from there you can get anywhere in the city or the country, depends on how adventurous you are...
    Due to the present cash crisis, please make sure you bring enough cash to cover your stay. You can use your bank cards to pay at grocery stores and restaurants but not to draw actual cash from an ATM

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days per week

Reconstructed village Nyanga
Worlds end view Nyanga
Amber has started her own cake business and here she is baking lemon cakes which she sells at one of the local health stores
Amber at archery, with the green bow
The new addition to our family.. Lion Heart
Our pool
Walking the Camino Santiago - Spain
My parents place in the Vumba mountains







Host ref number: 636658822273