Come and be a part of our family, and help us with our house, garden and kids in a small town in Northern Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five who lives in Finnsnes; a small town in the Northern Norway. Our family consists of Maria (33), Audun (37), and our three beautiful girls: Serine (5), Julie (3) and Eunike (0). Maria works as a psychologist in the mental health service, but right now she stays home to take care of our baby Eunike. She will stay home until august 2020. Audun works as an system engineer in our municipality. Serine and Julie is in kindergarden by daytime in the weekdays.

    Maria is born and raised in the northern Norway, while Audun has spent his childhood in East-Africa. He therefore know how to speak swahili, and we both speak english well. Maria knows a little bit finnish.

    Maria likes knitting and home craft in general. This autumn shes planing to try out making her own soaps and creams. She loves powerlifting, and will start training at a studio again in august after some years break due to pregnancy/having a baby. Maria likes the deep conversations.

    Audun is curious about allmost everything. He likes to be outdoor and if he can make a big fire he will smile a lot. When time allows, and sometimes when times do not allow it, he do a small experiment to find out something that his wife thinks is useless (this is Auduns words) :)

    We are both easy going and unformal. We are unperfect christians who respect other peoples view of life.

    Serine plays soccer once a week (summer season) and loves to draw, scrapbook, play role play and pick flowers and snails.

    Julie loves to hang around mum and dad. She also likes to play with dolls, draw, and play with water and dirt outside.

    Eunike is an easy, smiling baby. She sleeps well, and only cries when shes got a reason (hungry, burp or poop coming, tiered or unpleased with something).

    As a family we like to be outdoor together, when times allow. We spend time in the garden, or go on small hikes, make a bonfire and have picnic, go in the woods to pick berries, or hang out at the beach/by the sea or at the playground. But because of busy days and short time between dinner and bedtime for the girls, most afternoons is spend at home.

    Our home is only a five minute drive from the island of Senja, which offers beautiful nature perfect for outdoors. From Finnsnes you can also reach Tromsø by 1 hour and 15 min by the public speedboat. In the summer you will get to see the midnight sun, which you can see from our house every evening (when its not very cloudy), and it doesnt get dark outside by night (but relax; we do have blinds in the guestroom windows :)). In the winter you can see the northers lights.

    The days gets busy with three small girls, so we could need some help in the house/garden, watching the kids and with maintenance of the house. We also love to get to know other people, especially from other cultures and parts of the world. We think it is important that our girls get to meet people from other countries and cultures, to learn to be open minded and inclusive. We are looking for a woman/girl to stay with us for about a month, and as a workaweyer in our home you must be prepaired to be a part of our family :) We want to have a live conversation via Skype or the like with possible helpers, before deciding if you are the right person for our family.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You get to see how life is for a typical norwegian family in the nothern part of Norway, and experience the polar climate and beautiful norwegian nature. You are guaranteed to see the midnight sun in the summer and experience illuminous summer nights. In the winter there is a high chance to see the northern lights. You can join us on outdoor activities like campfire and simple hiking with the children. We are a christian family, and you are welcome to join us in church if you want to.

  • Help

    Help

    We want help with general housekeeping like vacuuming, washing up, cooking and shopping, cleaning, dusting etc., and take care of the kids and play with them. We also need help in the garden with cutting the gras. In the winter we need help with shoveling snow (we have a snowblower to make the job easier). It may also be applicable to do some painting and general maintenance of the house. Its an adventage if you have a driving license, as it would be great for us to get help delivering/picking up in kindergarden.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    norwegian, english, swahili (and a little bit finnish)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room in the basement to your disposal. The rest of the family also have bedrooms in the basement, and you will need to share bathrooms with us. There is one bathroom with toilet and shower downstairs, and one in the main floor. The kitchen is on the main floor, and we would like you to join us at our meals.

    We provide: Towels, linen, pillow and duvet. You can use our wifi without any limits.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Allthough Finnsnes is a small place (a population of 4658 people), we do have a shopping mall and some lokal shops, cafes, library, a cultural house with theater performances and cinema. As already said, we also have beautiful nature. Its only a short trip by car (2,5 hours) or by boat (1 hour and 15 min) to the city of Tromsø. We can help you find the available transport. The local bus pass by our house, but it doesnt go very frequently. We have a bike and bike helmet that you can borrow if you would like to cycle in the locan area just to look around.

    Because we have three small children, we spent most of our time at home. At night the children do cry from time to time, so if you are sensetive to noise you might want to bring earplugs. Mom is currently home with the baby, and will stay home until august 2020. The two biggest girls is in kindergarden most of the weekdays, and dad is at work. On sundays we go to church. We now and then visit or get visit from friends who also have children, so the helpers can expect that there sometimes in the afternoon or in the weekends will be more people and more noise in the house. This will only be for a few hours, and never overnight.

    We expect that the helpers clean after themselves and keeping order, that you dont smoke or use alcohol or drugs, and that you try to stay calm in the house after the girls have gone to bed.

    We respect the Workaway limitations of working hours and we want you to feel free to work more some days if you want more time off some other days.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Family photo taken june 2019
Family photo from summer 2018, before Eunike was born.
Family photo from summer 2017
Family photo from summer 2017
Our youngest daughter, Eunike. Born in march 2019.
Out daughter in the middle, Julie (3 years old)
Our oldest daughter, Serine (5 years old) in her new soccer clothings. She plays soccer for the sportsclub in our village.
Serine and Julie meets "Turbo" who gives them award for going on five hikes in the lokal area, and find codes they rapport to show that they have taken the hikes :)
One of our "Turbo-hikes" to a "church" (its called "Markas stavkirke") a lokal guy have made in the wood.
A lot of wood figures to explore on the way to "Markas stavkirke"
On our way to "Markas stavkirke"
Host ref number: 633668567133