Volunteer in the Sunny Algarve.

Country

Portugal

Favourited 171 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My Wife and I own a small Farm at Poco Barreto, Silves, Algarve.We have renovated 90% of the house and should have it all completed by June.We have three dogs which we acquired from the local rescue kennels.A Jack Russel and two Pointers.(all very friendly).We are about to start using the land by growing vegetables and introduce more fruit trees.We have many orange and lemon trees, almond and olive trees.
    it's a 15 minute drive to the Beach, or there is a train station in the village(4miute walk) Trains go West to Lagos Marina and East to Faro.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    We would like assistance with the general running of the Farm,mainly working on the land to keep it tidy. Weeding and keeping the grass down help to rebuild stone walls. Some painting and tiling may also be required.Two people travelling together preferred.We will provide most evening meals and we do not do take in people with special diets.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a double Pod unit with kitchen lounge and Shower room.It has radio and TV.(very comfy).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From Faro , there is a train to Poco Barreto.
    DUE TO SEVERE FIRE RISKS IN THE SUMMER. We will only take non smokers.
    Male or Female helpers welcome.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week.

South view from our house.
Mike with our 3 dogs, 2 German pointers Tess & Jess and you can just about see our Jack Russell Fliss.
Bathroom.
Front view of your accommodation.
Your accommodation bedroom with double wardrobes.
Your accommodation kitchen with gas cooker and fridge.
Your accommodation living area with TV ,dining table and chairs.
Outdoor kitchen, dogs kennels and tool shed.
Our outdoor kitchen with bread/pizza oven , BBQ, pool table & dart board.
Our house
Our house.







Host ref number: 633658397182