Help us creating a small arboretum in the heart of the Midi Pyrenees, South France

Country

France

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Located in the heart of the Midi Pyrenees, Le Puech is on the outskirts of Gorses, a small village close to the towns of St Cere and Figeac and Lac Tolerme is just down the road.
    Myself and my husband, Adam have been living here for the past four years and our three children (Nathan, Lottie and Tom) holiday here as often as they can.
    We have two lovely dogs, a mixture of cats, two rabbits and two hamsters. They are much loved and seek attention most of the time.
    We are country loving people who have taken to living a simple life. We would love to successfully grow our own vegetables and have a small orchard. This is currently in the process of being planned.
    I am a landscape gardener as a hobby, creating small gardens within our land. This is my passion and one of my main aims is to plant 100 trees on the space we have, creating a small arboretum.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an area where the landscape offers beautiful walks along river banks and through woodland. Cycling is popular but not for the faint hearted as we are surrounded by hills and valleys.
    There are places of interest to visit locally and a bit further away you have the historic town of Rocamadour , which has lots to see and do. Aurillac is the largest town to us and thirty minutes beyond that is the Massive Central, good for walking, mountain biking and skiing in season.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for enthusiastic people who are prepared to work outdoors most of the time. This work will involve building veggie boxes, rabbit proof fencing, maintaining the hedgerow and general seasonal outdoor work. If you have any knowledge of building work we will also have small structures to build such as sheds and store rooms. Water pipes will need to be laid to supply the vegetable patch with water and a good irrigation system. Large decked areas and small individual gardens will also need to be landscaped into the field.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is an old French Farmhouse, which needs some attention in places. Slowly we are insulating and boarding attic spaces and laying new floor boards. This leaves limited spare space within the house. The accommodation we will provide you with will be in the Bread Oven or Tent (weather permitting) or Cave (ground level room, own entrance).
    The area you occupy will be furnished and WiFi is provided.
    You will have access to the bathroom and toilet in the house. Bedding and towels will be provided as well as use of the washing machine.
    Breakfast will be cereal, yogurt, bread and croissants, coffee, tea or juice. This will be between 8.30 and 10.00
    Lunch will be provided, sandwich, or light snack, fruit and whatever needs eating up.
    We usually eat our evening meal anytime from 6pm onwards, depending on what we are working on. We are not vegetarians but also don’t eat meat everyday. We eat as much local fresh produce as possible, shopping at the local markets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live rurally, so public transport isn’t available. We have a couple of bicycles, which can be borrowed. The local lake is five kilometres away and offers a picturesque view of the local countryside; there are BBQ areas, fishing and a swimming beach. The local town of Latronquiere is five kilometres away. It has a small supermarket, bank, PO and cafe and a local market on Friday mornings.
    On occasion you can join us shopping or going out. If we have the opportunity to show you our local area, we can spend the odd afternoon doing that.
    The local population is small and on the older side of life, so please bear that in mind, it is quiet here, most of the time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The attic landing is equipped to offer space for laptops etc and is quiet place to work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have lots of parking space off the road.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 632319769366