Help family with planting, repairs, painting and play with the kids at an old Swedish farmhouse in Dalarna, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 150 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/05/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    419

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *Looking for a volonteer from the 20th of july*

    We are a family living at the countryside in Sweden, in the district of Dalarna. We live in a traditional, typical old Swedish village in a red house. We have an old farmhouse were we grow some flowers, vegetables and berries and such and would like to expand our growing a bit every year. We moved here two years ago and we have alot of project's and plans for our farm.

    WE are 2 grownups, Sandra and Matts, 34 and 30 years old and Matts two children, Liljan and Viivi. Together we have a 14 month old toddler, Hedda. Liljan and Viivi are twins and 10 years old. Viivi has autism and is a special kid.

    We're a creative family, Matts is really in to music and wants to build a studio in the barn. I, Sandra, am a fiber artist and does mainly macrame. I'm also a teacher in Yin yoga and Mindfulness, does some reiki healing and hypnosis. I'm also in to astrology.

    I have slowly started to work part time but still spend quite a bit of time at home with Hedda. Matts take's care of Viivi for a living and right now he is studying music. We love our house and the village Djura has really beautiful surroundings. You can reach the lake in 10 min on bike, go for hikes, visit flee markets, go canoing, go visit the nearest small town etc.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    See the typical Sweden and typical traditional landscape. See beutiful nature, swim in lakes in the forest. Go to the sauna. Learn Swedish or Finnish (Matts speaks Finnish as well). Learn/do yoga & mindfulness. Get some reiki. Interesting conversations. Play music with Matts.
    We hope you will share knowledge to us of growing and gardening, building, yoga, personal development or anything else of interest!

  • Help

    Help

    We would appreciate help in the garden, mowing the big lawn but also with planting, weeding, harvesting and taking care of the crops. This year though, we're not planting as much as before, we want to grow crops that needs little water. It will be an experiment.

    We're planting a hedge and the meadow that we started last spring need tending as well. The right flowers to make the bees thrive and improve biodiversity.

    A big project this year is paint the house which might be the main task we like to have some helpers for.

    Other tasks might be:
    * small repairs on the barn and our smaller house.
    * help with the children, keeping them company, teaching them some new language and play with them etc.
    * help in the kitchen, like cooking, and to keep the house tidy.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small house on the farm with one big bed. It's cozy and old/traditional but without heating at the moment but we can give you a small heater if it's not warm enough. You will use our kitchen, preferably we will cook together, or take turns, and one of our bathrooms.
    We eat 90 % vegetarian food, somatimes we have fish or wild meat. We prefer to not have any kind industrially produced meat in our house.

    There is two lovely cats in the family, Stinky and Wolfgang.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transportations: To get here, train or bus is the best way, we will pick you up at the station Gagnef.

    To get around:
    We have bikes.
    We can give you a lift sometimes.
    Hiking.
    Bus leaves like once or twice a day ;).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The Wifi is usually good but in summer it can be a bit overloaded because of summer guests coming to the village.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes, but one or two persons.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As long as they don't harm our two cats ;).

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 629673237982