Come and help at the organic family farm in the beautiful region with beautiful views of the Alps in Le Vaud, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

Favourited 326 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    854

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 28 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are two brothers taking over the family farm and turning it to organic production. We have cattle (~30 cows), various animals (chickens, 2 ducks, 2 geese, a dog and a cat)) cereal production (wheat and barley that we will use to brew our beer), an orchard and a vegetable garden big enough for our own consumption and to produce sirups, jams and surplus that people can buy self-service in the village.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a counterpart we would love to share with you the following
    - How to brew beer
    - How to produce your own delicious food
    - How to behave with cattle and how to care for it
    - How to speak French

    We live in a beautiful region right between Lausanne and Geneva (40km away from both) and you would enjoy a beautiful view on the Alps and the lake of Geneva. As you see the village is not too far away from the civilisation ;) but it is also located at the bottom of the Jura mountain so if you like nature, trekking or biking you are at the right place.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for nice young and motivated people to help us in our various tasks that would consist in:
    - Developing a permaculture field
    - Gardening
    - Animal caring
    - Logging
    - prepare jams and sirops


    And if you are ready for the following we would also be interested in:
    - Creating a website for the farm
    - Learning the guitar
    - Learning or refreshing other languages

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accomodation is a separate flat with three rooms and a big kitchen. Smoking inside is not allowed.

    For the food we would meet for the breakfast and lunch in the family house. For the dinner, we could also eat together but it could happen that you would have to cook your own dinner, with the food we would provide (from the farm or from the small grocery store that is next to our house)...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a nice zoo in the village
    There is also a tennis court

    If you like festivals, we are next to Nyon which is a city where a lot goes on.
    -In April: international documentary movies festival visionsdureel.ch
    - June: nice little music festival caribana.ch
    - July: biggest music festival in Switzerland paleo.ch
    - August: very local music festival jval.ch

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)









Host ref number: 628323134142