Enjoy nature helping me with my self-sufficiency project in Alájar, Andalusia, Spain.



Favourited 21 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    I am a single man of 60 years old, originally from Cordoba, a small city in the south of Spain. I came to Alajar three years ago looking for a suitable place to start my self-sufficiency project. After these three years of hard work I have advanced a lot, but it is still too much for one person, so I'm looking for people who can help me and at the same time interested in learning about gardening and some skills construction ( I am building a well for the drought periods).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about Spanish culture, specially the typical life style from the villages in the south of Spain. You will try the good food from Spain, enjoy the wonderful landscape, learn about gardenin, construction, and of course, you will improve your Spanish because I can not speak another language.

  • Help


    I live in a small village in the natural park of Aracena, Álajar, Huelva, (Andalucía).
    My utopia (because I´m aware that it is utopia) is self-sufficiency. I keep a small garden, some chickens... I need help, this is too hard to do it by myself. I offer full accommodation in a private room and food. We can reach an agreement with the meals, I´m not very strict in my tastes.
    I would prefer people who see fair the exchange and could dedicate four hours of work, five days a week, and who is thinking to enjoy the stay a minimun of fiveteen days , firstly having two days of prove and agreeing that we are both compatible.
    I have to make clear that I only speak Spanish, so a medium level of Spanish is required.
    I´m very demanding with the cleaning, so the shower must be daily, please!
    The work will be as light as possible because we will do it together.
    In case that you want it, I´ll be your guide around this beautiful routes and villages!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    You will have a private room separate of mine by a wooden wall. The house is rural and simple but clean and comfortable. About the food, you will have every meals included. If you are hungry, feel free to have whatever you need. But se will share the work, I'll cook today, you'll do it tomorrow. If you like vegetables it would be so easy, just go to the garden and take all that you want. Fresh and eco products;) But there are also supermarket near to my home. I'm not vegetarian but is not a problem if you are.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live on the mountain, but the village it is just 10 minutes walking, so during your free time you could go there, find some bars or socialize with locals.
    If you like nature, you will be in a paradise here. There are many routes through wich you can walk and enjoy a beautiful landscape.
    I could drive you also to visit some nearby typical andalucian villages. Small white houses, narrow streets, and full of flowers in spring.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 627597899645