Help a Young Couple Restoring a Derelict Building on the Beautiful Cowal Peninsula of Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 173 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *covid update: we will be inviting guests to come in July, but to avoid having our site become a "revolving door" we are asking workawayers to commit to a 3 to 4 week stay.

    We're Cal and Claire, a young couple who accidentally bought taking a derelict Victorian Villa that has been left empty for 20 years! We're trying to preserve the original character of the building and restore it in an eco-friendly way.

    We're located on the breathtaking Cowal Peninsula, in Scotland.
    We're a two-minute walk from Holy Loch, with Loch and mountain views from the property and we have some incredible mountain hikes and camping opportunities nearby.

    Cal and I would love any help we can get, and have also put our project on workaway because it would be a lot more fun doing this project with other people and sharing the experience! We have plenty of barbeques, bonfires, and really want to make sure our guests get the chance to explore the area - it's beautiful here!

    Cal and I both love backpacking and travelling. We can't travel at the moment, as we're tied down to this house, so we might as well have the travellers come to us!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cal is English and I am Canadian. We both moved to Scotland recently and are excited to explore the area as much as show it to our guests!
    We love the outdoors, and really strive to strike a balance between working on the project and going on adventures! We love hiking the mountains in the area, and are looking forward to going on camping trips this summer. We'd love for our guests to explore with us!
    We also have a kayak that we are happy for guests to take out on the water!

    Cal is an experienced tradesman. So for those who are up for it, we'd love to teach you new skills as we work on the project. Please let us know if there are any skills you would like to learn while you're here.

  • Help

    Help

    All skill levels welcome! We have jobs for everyone, and are happy to teach you new skills as well!

    We want to keep things informal and let people decide how much they want to work vs. explore the area.

    If you like working outside, we have plenty of landscaping to do! If you like building, or want to learn new building skills, we have plenty of work to do on the house! We also appreciate cooking, cleaning and general housekeeping tasks as well!
    Some of our upcoming landscaping tasks include:
    - drainage
    - clearing the yard (lots of shrubs and bushes to be cleared)
    - landscaping
    - general yard tidying and beautifying

    Some of our upcoming building tasks include:
    - re-pointing walls
    - fixing sections of stone wall
    - building concrete block walls and foundations
    - carpentry: building new internal supporting walls and stud walls
    - window installation
    -insulating
    - wiring (but not connecting wiring - we'll leave this for the professionals!)
    - plumbing

    Of course, people with trades experience are an asset to the project, but we have work available for all skill levels. And we're happy to teach people new skills if they take an interest!

    When you apply, we'd love to know what jobs you are most interested in doing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    1 two-room tent available with electricity, a lamp and a double mattress. Usually reserved for couples.
    1 large stand-up shared tent with 2-3 mattresses, electricity and a shared living room with futon.
    Plenty of camping space for those of you who bring your own tent, and parking space for van-lifers!

    We provide food, and everyone usually takes a turn cooking dinner. If another guest would rather cook/clean, it all needs to get done, and we appreciate it as much as the building work! Everyone gets a turn at doing dishes.
    We do family-style meals and tea breaks throughout the day!

    Happy to accommodate ANY dietary requests!

    Amenities are VERY basic: we're living on a building site! We have running water, electricity, gas stove and oven, shower and toilet. We try keeping things tidy but accommodation is NOT fancy - keep your expectations down to camping-level - and remember, we live on a building site!

    We also have a lovely wood-fired bathtub out in the backyard, which we use as a hot tub! Very luxurious after a long day of working on the house or hiking!

    Cal and I have a phone with unlimited internet, which we are happy to have people use as a hotspot. There is also a cafe, as well as a pub with internet, all within a five-minute walk from the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cal and I usually take 2 days off each week, and spend these days going on hikes, kayaking, w swimming at great local spots, going for beach days etc. We include all our guests in these activities.

    Guests are expected to take more days off than us, and we would really love you to take some initiative and plan hikes and activities for yourselves on these days.

    We are happy to recommend places to go, we have maps of the area, and we're happy to drop off and pick people up at the beginning and end of their hikes!
    If guests want to explore on days we're working, there are nearby hikes, the Holy Loch is a two-minute walk away, and there

    There are also regular buses from Sandbank to Dunoon, and to the local botanical Gardens and some nice walks.

    Glasgow is also very easy to get to by Ferry and train. We're happy to pick up and drop off guests at the Ferry terminal.

    This part of Scotland is absolutely beautiful! Think picturesque Loch-side towns and dramatic mountain landscapes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-5 hours per day, 5 days per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 626941759594