Join our off the grid olive garden on the island Korcula, Croatia

Country

Croatia

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2021

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone! I decided to roll up my sleeves and put little olive garden (1700m2) into shape. It's located on island Korcula, close to town Korcula, and it's an OFF THE GRID getaway surrounded with olives, pine trees and sounds of nature. Water for showering and cleaning dishes is rainwater from tanks, drinking water is from the store. Toilet is wherever you like in the woods :). There is no electricity, but cafe is 10 min by foot so it's possible to charge your phone there while drinking a cup of coffee. Market for food supply and bus stop are also at the same place as cafe (10 minute walk from olive garden).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Drystone wall building is very popular in Dalmatia for a long time and it's also on Unesco's cultural heritage list. I can show you around Korcula, recommend places to visit, tell you the history.

    You can explore Korcula, lovely beaches, old town, cuisine, tradition, we can go hiking. Also, other islands around Korcula are easy to go to and explore.

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks would consist of repairing drystone walls in the garden, because they have fallen down at some places, cutting branches, removing bushes, grass, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent
    Slovenian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Tent with air mattress for two, pillows and blankets. It would have to be a couple or good friends, since you'll be sleeping in the same tent. You can bring your own tent, if you like.

    OFF THE GRID- rainwater for showering, toilet in the woods. No electricity or fridge.

    I'll provide lunch, but please be aware since there's no fridge, cuisine can't be 5 stars :) You'll have to take care of breakfast and dinner on your own. There is little gas stove for cooking in the wooden house in the garden.

    Location is isolated, there is only one house some 100m away, and village is 10min walk away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Be aware there's no fridge for storing food that needs storage!

    Dogs welcomed! If you're traveling with a dog, that's great and no problem. I can even take care of him if you want to spent your free time cycling etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 6 days a week


Host ref number: 626868241137