Elderly Care In Beautiful Kelowna, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    470

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am surgical coordinator at an animal hospital and since my parent move from a small town north of here we decided to buy a house together so I could be close to help more with my dad. My father has Parkinsons and until recently was doing fairly well. A recent turn in his health has made us desperate to have some help so we can simply go to the store or hot out together. Unfortunately he can have episodes of freezing and is we aren't home they leave him stuck in into uncomfortable positions.

    MOTHER: Communications Background, enjoys wine + soap operas, the batchelotette.
    DAD: Early onset Parkisons. Likes storytelling
    ( usually about fishing, vietnam or Big Foot…. they are usually quite entertaining but he has been doing less of that these days. )
    ANIMAL FAMILY :A Springer Spaniel + two Siamese Cats

    My dad needs help to keep his mind and body engaged. it would be amazing to have alternating days where some morning my mom could have a break from getting him up giving pills and maybe getting him showered. Obviously looking for someone comfortable with care giving. Trying to get him to go for short walks or play games with him would be amazing.

    I love cooking and would be happy to have another person to cook for. I have a suite downstairs and may parents are up so on you off time you could have a separate place (I work all the time) and when needed they are just upstairs. Kelowna is a beautiful city we are just outside in Lake country about 20 from downtown. about 4 min from woods lake that connects to the amazing Kalamaka lake in Vernon BC. I would be happy to drive you places when I can or there is a bike ans buses to use.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Elderly Companion
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Beyond a private room, new bed, towels, linens, cable, fresh air, animal cuddles, I love to host + would be happy to show you the local area.
    I love cooking + respect local and slow food. Theres loads of comfort, easy food in the cupboard / freezer if Im not in though one night. All meals are included.

  • Help

    Help

    Duties are a little less time than most workawayers.

    Sunday-thursday -flexable

    PEOPLE CARE :
    1hr - Looking for someone with a physiotherapy, elderly care or physical fitness background to help my father who has Parkinson's stay active.

    If contacting us please answer the following questions :

    1 - What draws you to this profile ?

    2 - What is your preferred arrival and departure date to join us? We are looking for a 6 week minimum commitment.

    3 - What is your Skype name, phone number and email address ?

    4 - What are your goals during our time together + what support from us ( if any ) will you need to commit these goals ?

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My place is close to the airport, wineries, UBC, bus route, 20 min drive to downtown, parks, art and culture. You’ll love my place because of the location and amazing lakeview

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Pick your passion!
    Golf courses
    Wineries
    Orchards
    Beach Lounging
    Parks
    Horseback riding
    Hiking
    Watersports
    Large health + well-being community

    *️ Absolutely no smoking inside or near the home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 626463644494