Stay in a cozy mountain cabin and help with chickens in Gudbrandsdalen, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The cabin is suiteable for optionally one person (in some occations a pair or two very good friends) who can be independent and have your own houshold/ bring your own food and prepare your own meals, while the owner is staying in high mountain pasture occupied milking goats. Being seriously interested in taking good care of the chickens, feed them and give them fresh water every day is a must. It means less than one hour work every day and lot's of time for hiking, biking, reading, writing, working on your own project or just admiering an amazing landscape.

    The farm is in Skjåk, Gudbrandsdalen, at the entrance of Breheimen (mountain area with glaciers), 460 km north west of Oslo, surrounded by pastures, forest and panorama view down the valley. The cabin is located beside the rest of the houses on the farm.

    It's a beautiful place with fresh air, clean water and great opportunities for hiking in the mountains, bicycling, reading, or just relaxing in peaceful environment with a lot of wildlife. In winter it’s great opportunities for skiing and snow shoeing in the area.

    A little bit about myself and the farm: I am an athropologist by education, originally from Oslo, the capital. Five years ago I quitted work in academia and moved to the small mountain farm. I still do some grading for the university, but being outdoor, close to nature, hiking in the mountains, being around animals and using arms and legs when working, means so much to me I chose to change direction in life and moved from the urban city to the mountains. The farm has been abondoned for 30 years, so several projects are still waiting to be started, little by little.

    I’m a social person, not an hermit, I have good contact with neighbours and friends in the valley, and are fully integrated in the local community. I like travelling, even urban qualities are appreciated, but in summer its a lot of work to do at the farm, as a farmer one need to be present, even extra hands is needed. Besides, summer in Norway with bright nights and lush nature is so beautiful, it can’t be replaced by anything else!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Farmstay
    Other
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you would like to stay in a traditional and cosy little cabin made of timber logs, if you want to live close to nature, if you want to go hiking in great hiking area or biking along rural roads, if you would like to rest, read or write in a quiet and peaceful place, learn about nature, wildlife and weather, besides getting insight into local cultural history, building traditions and mountain farming in one of the most beautiful valleys in Norway, this is the right place for you.

  • Help

    Help

    Feeding 6 chickens and give them fresh water every day, watering a few plants/ flowers if needed.

    Besides really caring for all living creatures, domesticated animals and wild animals aswell, caring for the enviroment is a must if you want to stay at the farm. You also have to be comfortable on your own, thriving in your own company at the farm, both day and night, most of the time.

    You need to be outdoorsy, independent and absolute fluent in English, Norwegian, Swedish or Danish since I'm not present daily and it's no time to risk language related misunderstandings or barriers.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Norwegian, Swedish, Danish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The cabin has electricity and a cooking area, small refrigerator, woodstove and open fire place, no running water, no shower or WC, no Wifi or internet connection, but cosy and peaceful athmosphere and amazing view towards the mountains. You will fetch water from the tap outside the main building, and the outhouse is located across the yard.

    Smoking or any kind of drugs are not allowed, not at all, not any place on the farm. If you smoke you don't apply. You are not allowed to bring dog or other pets with you. No use of perfume, incense or other in the cabin. You will arrive to a clean cabin and we expect it to be the same way when you leave.

    Furthermore, you need to bring sleeping bag or bed sheet, towel, warm clothes, good boots and rain gear, in fact all gear needed for being comfortable in high mountain areas. If you want to go hiking or bicycling, do bring all the hiking stuff and the bicycle with you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Preferably, you need a car to stay at the farm, since 14 km to nearest foodstore and no public transportation to the farm. Alternatively, bus from Oslo (takes 6 hours) stops once a day by the foodstore, but then again you have 14 km more to go... If you choose to travel by public transportation to get here you go off the bus at Dønfoss bus stop, and you need to be self equipped with food and necessities for the whole stay since you can only get lift to the store when I will be driving down to get groceries, approximatly every second week. I will of course fetch you at the bus stop and drive you back when departing, if needed.

    If you are seeking cafés, shopping, bars and pubs, or a lot of social interaction, this is not the right place for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 15 hours with 2days off



Host ref number: 626398622851