Come and help in and around the house in the middle of the mountains in Val-d'Illiez, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

Favourited 214 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    56.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi everyone! We are Beatrice (primary school teacher) and Jan (mechanics teacher and bike guide), a young swiss family (expecting a +1 in summer 2019 :)). During weekdays we work around the greater area of Zurich but spend most of our free time in our chalet in Val d'Iliez. Its a typical swiss mountain chalet made of wood, one of actually two buildings right next to each other. At the moment we use the older one as a storage shed but there are big plans for it ahead :). The newer one is the one we use for living and share it with 3 other flatmates. We just bought the property 1 1/2 years ago and there is still a lot of stuff to do around the house, so we're in need of some helping hands. The area itself is beautifully located in the middle of one of europes biggest ski areas. There are plenty of opportunities for outdoor sports (mountainbike, hike, snowboard - or sledging in the wintertime). If you are not the sporty kind we can recommend our sunny balcony with stunning views towards the surrounding mountains. We are up on 900m, about 10 mins walking distance to the next village/train station. Anyone who loves quiet, peaceful nature will be happy around here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach you funny swiss words :) Jan is a mountainbike teacher, so of course you can learn from him. Or we could teach you skiing!

  • Help

    Help

    We really need someone who is handy with all sorts of building stuff, electricity, heating... or just someone who helps us painting the walls, lay the flooring etc. Some gardening, too - depends on the season and on what has priority to be done. Let's specify the exact work once we are in contact!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We're living in a typical swiss chalet in the middle of the mountains, right next to the forest. You will have your own bedroom on the upper floor, including a small balcony with a great view (yay). There are two bathrooms on two floors and a kitchen we share with our flatmates. We have a big living room with an eating area, couches and aTV, a big balcony and an outdoor eating area. As a nice extra, we can also provide our sauna.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are not too far from public transport. No party people please (actually you wont have much occasion here anyway :)). We kindly ask to keep the common areas tidy and clean.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 625826678182