In a beautiful place in Hokkaido, enjoy work and stay! - Japan

Country

Japan

Favourited 94 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello folks, I am helping my friend's project in Yoichi, Hokkaido. The project is about descontructing building and clearing up the field which is my friend's property. We have to dismantle things like green houses which is built with metal pipes.

    The living place we live is quite a big house which is used for a resort sometimes, so you will definitely have your own room! My friend's also live in the same property, so if you like to experience living with a Japanese family, you're more than welcome! We also have a dog which is Ainu dog. There is a forrest you can go for a walk in the backyard. The area is surrounded by quiet nature.

    As for work , the basic work hours would be 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Food is provided. I'm vegetarian/pescatarian, but my friends are not. I like cooking and learning new recipes, so I'll be happy to cook together.

    Speaking of myself a bit, I like art, cultures, and nature. I'm from Sapporo, and I work as a designer usually. I have lived in different cities and countries before. I've been interested in sustainable ways of living, so I have stayed at different organic/permaculture farms in several countries as a helper. I would like to do it again.

    My friend who owns the house and property is an activist / farmer. If you like to know things about Japanese politics, etc, you may get interested in what she does. Although this project is not about sustainability, but I hope you can enjoy staying in a beautiful place of Hokkaido and experiencing Japanese cultures with us!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you like nature, you would definitely enjoy the area. It's close to both sea and mountains. I would like to show you around and exchange our cultures because I'm always interested in learning other cultures!

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    The work is simple, just teaing down buildings! There is a coop and a house to deconstruct. It doesn't require any special skills as long as you have a good motivation to work together!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Japanse

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are two big houses with several rooms each. My friend's family live in one of them. You can choose to live in either building. You will have your own room and futon.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Yoichi is about a half hour away from Otaru and a coulee of hours away from Sapporo. We could go hiking in the mountain, swimming in the sea , or going to onsen.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Sunset from our house
France? No, it's Yoichi!
A volunteer from Israel in Yoichi!
usual winter scenery in Yoichi
The house my friend's family live.
The view!
Another house in the same property. There are plenty of rooms here!
Host ref number: 624554634868