Small, cosy and sentralt farm in Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 292 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family, running an ecological farm, located in a beautiful area 10 min from Bergen City center in Norway. Primarely we are a sheep farm, with focus on animal welfare. However, we also have horses and miniatyr horses (witch we use in terapi settings), goats, a dog, and smaller animals like rabbits and guinepigs. We live at the farm, and are looking for someone that would be interested in helping us with the animals aswell as traditional farmwork in general, eg: building, fencing etc... We are an outgoing family, friendly and hardworking. We are looking for people with the same caracters. We can offer an Apartment seperat from us to live in, general food and dining with us. There are many opertunities for exploring Norway close to our farm. Forexample; City 10 min, mountain tracks just outside the door, skiing and cabin life under one hour from here (Voss,Kvamskogen,etc...), and horse riding at the farm. We are located in rural area, at the sametime close to most attractions that surrounds Bergen. We hope that some of you guys will find this interesting,and we are looking forward to hear from you!! :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers would be part of a traditional Norwegian farm family. They would be able to take part in the various things that Norway has to offer. We are located sentrally. We have be en travelling alot ourselves and lived in different parts of the world. We are courious to get to know new people and other cultures. They will be able to gain knowledge about running a farm, ecologically, aswell as using animals in animal assisted therapy with people suffering from mental illnesses/challenges.
    As a family we are both interested in mountain hiiking and cabin life. We do sports, and we spend most our time outdoor.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like help with animal care and farwork such as building, fencing, feeding, help with the gras, potatoes ect... knowledge about horses would be great, but is not a prerequisit. Same gods for knowledge about timber work, fencing etc... we will provide good instructions and learning for all work travellers take part in. Much of the farm work is seasional, while some of the everyday work is based on rutiner.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small but cosy flat, with kitchen facilities, bedroom and bathroom. Travellers can eat dinner with us, and we will provid food for the rest of the meals that can be kept in the flat. Flat is suitable for a cuple or single person.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Train station is located 5 min from the farm. Train goes to bergen 6 min, Voss (skiing resort) 45 min, Oslo 7 hours. There are good buss conections, and we have several cars if we want to go somewhere together. There are fantastic hiiking possibilities just outside the door. This can be used either by foot, or by our horses. In walking distance from the farm, there are small rivers for salmonfishing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 622491497612