Help is required with the Perma-culture project in Qrendi, Malta

Country

Malta

Favourited 168 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1184

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a young Maltese male working on sustainability at a local organisation. I have a passion for agriculture and love to connect with nature as much as possible in my free time. I love to take coastline photography and in summer I like to go exploring underwater caves and various marine creatures.

    I have a small field in the West side of Malta where I spend some of my time taking care of fruit trees and crops (I do not live on site). My aim is to create a perma-culture garden composed with a food forest, and maybe create some space for small animals (I have 8 chickens and 6 rabbits so far). There are still (inside and outside) some things to be done like painting jobs, fencing, cleaning the cisterns, making firewood, and plenty of other stuff.

    I am welcoming everyone who enjoys to work outside and like to spend time trekking and cycling (mountain bike will be provided) in nature. The field is situated at the bottom of a valley in the rural area and is only 10 mins walk to the town centre, where one can find all the necessary amenity shops (Pharmacy, Grocer, Iron Mongery, Pub etc).

    In the surrounding walking distance areas once can find the Hagar Qim and Mnajdra neolithic temples which are fantastic old temples with beautiful cliff top location. Maqluba valley, which is a very interesting natural hole and Blue Grotto Caves which are a set of beautiful caves, among other interesting natural, historical and archaeological sites.

    I appreciate if you are willing to help out approximately 3-4 hours a day from Monday to Friday. (I am not that strict about timetables and other stuff that produces stress where there should not be one).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to experience our rural part of the island which is very different from the towns and cities. Plenty of opportunities to enjoy the nature and coastal areas of Malta. Inside the field there are also nice spots where you can do a BBQ, have a nap on the hammock under old olive trees, chill, read and relax. I also have a bicycle that you can use for travelling around.

    I have a keen interest in Maltese history and archaeology and during my free time we can go for a walk to visit some of the most interesting places in Malta, depending on your preference.

    It is always nice to have good company, good conversations and the possibility to exchange and learn from each other :-)

  • Help

    Help

    Help is required with the Perma-culture project (preparing, planting, watering (part of the field is covered with an irrigation system) pruning, so gardening in general) which I already started on a small scale.

    There are also some other things to be done such as, preparing firewood, fencing, feeding the chickens and rabbits, and general maintenance.

    You will spend most of the time alone in the field, however occasionally I do invite some friends over during weekend to cook and to have fun together.

    I require 1 volunteer for 1 month.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian and Maltese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation consists of one room (20 m2) which has 2 bunk beds and a kitchenette with a gas oven. The room (which has been recently renovated and painted) is situated in the centre of the field and has windows overlooking bamboo trees and orange trees.

    There is running water (collected from the rain) but there is no electricity. The only electricity I have is by the means of an electrical generator which is only used when using power tools and water pumps which will require electricity. However I do provide power-banks where you can charge you mobile phone.

    I have a small amount of solar lights which light part of the garden during the night and I also have some kerosene and gas lamps for the inside of the room during the night.

    No one lives in the property although me and some other friends often visit the place. There is also no Wi-Fi and there are no bathrooms in the property, but I do have a compost bucket.

    Basic food for food 1 meal a day will be provided by vegetables grown in the field and at the host expense. Food has to be cooked and prepared by the volunteer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Grocer, Pharmacy, Pub, Church and all other amenities can be found 1.2km away in a village called Qrendi :-)

    In Malta there are lots of interesting things to do in your free time. We have very good weather and the island is very small that you can almost reach every corner of the island with the bus or bicycle. There is also the smaller sister island of Gozo which has also some other interesting attractions.

    Bus station is also situated 1.2KM away and one can go to several other places in Malta for a small amount such as 1.50 euros.

    Any questions that you might have please do not hesitate to contact me :-)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 622164668194