Join a young farmer and help around the garden or the house, living in a small rural village, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! I am a Portuguese young farmer living in a rural old house with a big garden near Porto. It's a small village with not much movement even during day time. It is surrounded mainly by forest and farms. There are several cafes around, where you can enjoy a beer or a traditional menu for a very cheap price. The closest supermarket is at 5 minutes driving (20 minutes by walk), but I prefer buying food at the local market, which happens twice a week.

    The house where I live is old but has all basic comforts (hot water, electricity, washing machine, fully functional kitchen with wooden-oven), together with a beautiful garden. Both the house and the garden need a lot of maintenance and work: gardening, house renovation, fencing, pruning fruit trees, animal care ... I love having people around, sharing experiences and knowledge. There are many people visiting and joining the events and the gardening activities. The house is always in construction.

    There are a lot of animals around: chickens and other birds (not at the moment), neighbours' cats, dog-sitting for a few weeks. I am a dog lover and I worry a lot about their well-being and positive interactions with humans, other animals and house dynamics.

    I am very open to suggestions regarding eco-construction, organic farming, animal care and reuse of materials. Organising open events (music, theatre, barbecues, ...) is also possible, as long as they are respectful of nature, neighbours and do not cause any harm to anyone.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The volunteers will be immersed in the rural life of a little village and will enjoy the company of both locals and travellers at the same time. I am passionate about eco-construction and would love to share experiences and knowledge about it. I am also related at different levels with several alternative projects (rural communities, cultural associations, music projects) in the area, which I will be happy to show the volunteers, should they be interested.

  • Help

    Help

    Any help with gardening, construction and animal care is welcome. It is not necessary to have any specific ability, as long as you are energetic and proactive!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, English, Spanish, learning French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private or shared room, depending on the number of volunteers (max 3 volunteers per room). Sheets and towels are provided. Shared kitchen and bathroom.
    All available food (mainly vegan) can be used. Special food (meat, fish, cheese, gluten-free,...) is not included. I like cooking together and enjoy each other's company.
    This is not a farm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Once you're here, it is mandatory to visit the city of Porto (15km), which has become one of the main cultural attractions in Europe during the past decade. The bus stop is at the door. Buses run from 6pm to 8pm (one bus per hour) but I can offer you a lift when I go there (at least twice a week), together with several tips about local associations, cheap places to eat and alternative spots.
    There are several religious and hiking paths near the house. Bicycles are available. Neighbour villages offer a lot to see, including Natural Parks, ancient monasteries, beautiful beaches..
    You can always join nearby wild life events in "Parque Biologico de Gaia" (animals from similar climate), "Parque Ornitológico de Santa Maria da Feira" (worldwide birds) or "Estacao Litoral da Aguda" (Atlantic ocean's sealife)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 619746873969