Help needed in sanctuary for disabled dogs and with moving location in Herbstein Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 377 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/06/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    4968

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 58 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: moving to northern Spain (near Lugo)

    The sanctuary will move to Spain in September 2021. Between Juli and October we would like to get help for the move. The tasks will be packing, cleaning meadows, removing fances (horses) and so on... but you also can help in Spain, There the tasks will be cleaning, preparing the areas for the dogs, horses and cats including fence building.

    If you want to help, you are welcome.



    Hello animal-lover,

    if you want to be a volunteer in a sanctuary for disabled dogs and other animals and don't mind getting yourself dirty and work outside ... Welcome!

    We live in a small village 110 km north-East of Frankfurt in central Germany. We own a farm where we run this sanctuary. All animals are part of the family and not kept for financial purposes. All of them were rescued (from european countries and Russia) and are therefore very dear to us.

    We - that are Gabriella (46) and Gritta (44). Gaby ist the Caretaker of the sanctuary and I have a full-time Job (Human resources) in Darmstadt (including Business travels from time to time).

    Our friends think that we are crazy to do what we do, really animal lovers (because animals first, we next) and persons to talk , discuss and laugh together, responsible and reliable persons.
    but... sometimes we can although be difficult and strange.

    We are looking for a similar responsible and reliable person to help with animal care and housekeeping during the week and who can also manage things on her / his own when we away.

    Please be aware that we generally prefer to have somebody for a longer period of time and that experience with at least dogs is absolutely necessary. Minimum stay 6 weeks - up to 1 year possible.

    and please be aware that we are living in "the middle of nowhere". The public transport is nearly not existing ( one bus in one hour and not in the evening). You can use a bycicle to drive to the next small villages ( Herbstein 4 km, Lauterbach 15 km), but to go to Frankfurt / Fulda / Gießen - you need to go to Lauterbach first and then with the bus / train .
    There is always one car at the farm , but that is basically needed for work on the farm or emergencies. Exceptions are possible.

    For more details about the animals, pls check below. If you feel you are the right person, please contact us :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Beside getting more experienced regarding animals you can learn german and about german culture.

  • Help

    Help

    We have 38 dogs, 22 horses/ponies and 7 cats. Therefore you have to be an animal lover and must be experienced with animals (at least with dogs). This is absolutely essential to do this job!

    The job here is basically feeding the animals, cleaning the sleeping places, cat toilets etc.. Despite giving the animals a perfect home, We would also like to live in a clean and tidy place ourself:-) So we would ask you to keep your room and bathroom clean and also keep the house clean (together with Gaby).

    Please be aware that half of the dog pack is paralised. Our dogs live inside the house, even the paralised ones.

    You should be responsible and 100% reliable since we really depend on you . We need to have somebody at home who we can trust and know we can leave in charge with everything. However, you wont be alone for more than a day.

    It would help if you had worked on a farm or at a vet's or an animal shelter before, so you'd know what to expect:-)
    You should also be able to give medicine to the animals when they are ill or go to the vet with them.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    own bedroom with Internet, shower to share with our parents (if they visit us),
    Of course you can use all other rooms and facilities in the house. Normal Food will of course be provided. We are no vegetarians ( but of course accept Vegeterians and vegans), so if you need a special food or diet, please be aware that we cannot provide this.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Raum mit Internetanschluss und Schreibtisch sowohl in Deutschland wie in Spanien

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Notfalls Wiese vor dem Haus, ansonsten befestigter Stellplatz

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Hund, Katze, Pferd, Maus ....

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 617195615413