Come and help our family on the beautiful island in Löttorp, Sweden

  • Sweden
  • Favourited 1194 times
  • Last activity: 02/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Our family is running a hostel, its an old farm, situated on the beautiful island Öland east of The mainland of Sweden. Every spring , summer and fall we have people helping us with different chores at the hostel. Its a family hostel, Eco-friendly, near the sea with nice sand beaches.

    Easy going atmosphere in a country location. We have a outdoor gym that helpers also can use.

    Work 8 hours a day. Then you can take of and explore the island using our bicycles. And 2 days free a week. Your own staff kitchen and a bedroom for the staff.

    Free sauna. There is another hostel a few km away that also have helpers and together we have some beach parties or other activities together. Welcome!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You meet a lot of people from many countries. You lern everything about running a hostel. Learn about Sweden and the Swedish culture, language. We make different Swedish food and cakes like cinnamon rolls. Celebrate Swedish days together like midsummer.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with cleaning, gardening, painting, decoration, repairing things, helping the hostel guests with different things, reception work. We have many projects going on so if you have new suggestions how to improve our hostel for exempel in sustainability we are happy. In high-season the work can be quite stressful when we have many guests staying with us and days can be long.

    Hope to extend our garden with more plants and maybe chickens and honeybees.

    We offer paid work minimum 40 hours a week, 23 000 kr monthly salary plus extra paid for overtime 130 kr an hour. About 2300 euro. Minimum 2 years work experience in hotell or tourism sector and educated in hotell and tourism, fluent in Swedish because 95 % of our guests are Swedish. You need to work for minimum 3 months June, July and August. We need two workers for next summer.

    You can borrow bicycles and go to the beach or explore the island.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a one bedroom for the staff and one own toilet and shower. A kitchen only for helpers where you can cook. Sometimes we all cook together or have a barbecue party. We offer washing, bed linen and towels for free.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus service from Kalmar on the mainland going over the bridge and go all the way to the hostel, bus 101 . To Kalmar you can get to with plane or train from Copenhagen or Stockholm. There is also a low priced direct bus from Stockholm to the hostel

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have very good wifi in common areas at the hostel.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 8 hours a day

Host ref number: 613444873434

Feedback (14)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.6)

















Help me around my home and enjoy life in a village in Dalby, Sweden
Help with our garden and grow vegetables in Skånes Fagerhult, Sweden