Join our family eco-farm and help with DIY projects and feed the cows together in the hills in Sovodenj, Slovenia

Country

Slovenia

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a piece of land that had been passed on from generation to generation. We live in hills, 850 meters above sea level. We are an ecological farm and we grow our own vegetables and fruits, we pick and dry herbs and raise cows. We don't grow food to sell but simply for us to live as sustainable as we currently can can.

    We are 5 humans who live with 15 cows, our cat Henry and Luigi and dog Marley. I'm one of the 3 daughters on our farm, the middle one :). I moved to city few years ago, got MA in Social Pedagogy and worked with homeless, refugees, and with children with special needs. I enjoy this work very much but my heart is calling me back, back, back to land.

    My father built a big complex to work with metal and wood but because of regulations he needed to move his little company to nearby city. Now this big building is empty - and I decided to give the building and myself a new life. We started accepting campers and in near future we would like to offer a workshop space.

    We are blessed with our own water stream, many forest animals, lovely hiking and biking routes, in near by city we have a pool, skiing center, etc.

    ...its a quiet place.

    Our parents speak more with gestures then in English but they enjoy having company at the farm :). We the daughters speak English, Spanish, Croatian.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about herbs, herb mixing, vegetable growing, DIY renovating, making different products from vegetables and fruits, taking care of the cows, Slovenian language and culture and you too can teach us...*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️ We can also exchange occupational therapy, social pedagogy, sexological bodywork and YIN yoga knowledge.

  • Help

    Help

    Its autumn and the work from outside is moving more inside. We are currently in process of renovating the big complex. If you enjoy different DIY projects like painting, grinding, making tables, decorating, etc., then you are more then welcome. You don't need any knowledge or skills - just the will to try it out. Sometimes we will feed the cows together, work a bit with autumn veggies.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent
    Slovenian: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can sleep in one of the rooms in our family house and use one of our 2 bathrooms. If you have a camper feel free to stay in it if you prefer. In warmer seasons you can sleep in tent or on our dried hey.

    Half of family is vegetarian and half of it eats meat. So you will have both options. Most of the times my mother will cook one warm meal for all of us, some times we will cook together, but you are free to use our commune kitchen anytime. Breakfast, snacks and dinner are more free spirited. :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The closest public transport is 3,6 km away. But we are more then happy to give you a lift if needed :).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 599575518295