Family looking for an English-speaker babysitter in Madrid, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 470 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/01/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    129

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three: My two children (Marina 12, Mateo 9 years old and me (Monica). We live in Madrid in a nice and well communicated by metro and buses zone in the city. We are a nice and lovely family and we like knowing people from other countries. We have a quiet and normal life: work, school, activities, the quiet that you can imagine in a big city!
    I work as an Engineer in a Company and have to take care of my two children. Difficult to manage everything, so Workaway has been my salvation!
    I can telecommute part of the worktime in the afternoons-evenings at home.

    In our free time we enjoy watching films, listening to music and enjoy the numerous activities that Madrid offers.
    Marina loves rhythmic gymnastics, arts and crafts, baking and playing piano. Mateo loves playing football and board games and I love dance, mainly ballet and contemporary dance, but also yoga, pilates..I am social conscious and am interested in social volunteer. Maybe I will be able to do it again when I retire!

    We also enjoy the nature, so we travel some weekends to the village where my parents live, near the small and beautiful city of Cuenca, and also to Valencia at the east coast, where I spent half of my life.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like exchanging experiencies with people from other countries and lifestyles and make new friends. We will be glad to teach you Spanish and share our free time with you, but will also respect your independence. I am a very flexible and respectful woman.
    We've had several experiences with Workaway and the result is really positive, so we would like to continue!
    I will be happy to provide you any further information you may need either by private messages or a Skype chat.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for an English-speaker, responsible and easygoing girl to help me with the children, taking them to school and to after- school activities, help them with homework and playing with them in English, as well as light house-keeping. It would be fantastic if in addition you like cooking!
    The time required will be:
    - From 8 to 9 am: wake Mateo up, prepare breakfast, tidy the house a little and take him to school (it's only 5 minutes walking). Marina has started high school this year and she doesn't need it anymore.
    - Then you will have the whole morning free till 4 pm, when you will have to pick Mateo up from school and later take Marina to rhythmic gymnastics classes twice a week. Everything is 15 minutes maximum from home. Also help them with homework/studying or help me with dinner (basic meals).
    You will be free in the weekends as well.
    The children are used to have Workawayers/Aupairs at home and they are very autonomous and obedient.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English, a little German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a wide, nice and luminous flat in the 10th floor (don't worry, there are four lifts! hahaha). The views of Madrid and the mountains in the north are amazing. You will have your own bedroom and bathroom. The flat has 4 bedrooms, a spacious living-room and kitchen and two bathrooms, as well as a little but charming balcony.
    The metro is only two minutes walking from home and you can access the downtown in only 30-40 minutes. There are also many buses. You won't need to drive at all. You have the advantages of living in the city and it is also a residential area with parks, trees and local commerce.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Madrid offers a very rich cultural life and free time activities. It is a live city and you can only walk in the city and have a wonderful time. It has many genuine bars, shops, music and the gastronomy is really delicious. It has a really good public transport network. Also if you like outdoors, hiking, etc there are mountains nearby. As it is in the centre of Spain, it's a perfect place to visit everywhere in Spain if you like travelling.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Farewell evening with our last Workawayer Carla😢
Marina&Mateo with Evie, one of our Workawayers, in El Retiro park, Madrid
The children with Marica, our first workawayer







Host ref number: 599457824359