DIY and happy beings are welcome to help on a wonderful sustainable project in the South Sardinia , Italy

  • Italy
  • Favourited 135 times
  • Last activity: 26 May 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hey hey heyy beautiful creatures!!!

    Update April:

    We can only host right now if you have your own tent or camper.
    We are need of help with starting a vegetable garden, planting trees, child care and cooking.

    Update February:
    we want to build structures to keep our stuff dry, and us warm..
    chopping firewood, basement building, closing the front of the caravan with wood panels, build a shelter for the sheep, cob creations wooden shed/greenhouse, organized and plan reforestation, seed spreading gardening. carpenters..

    Please read to the end so you understand the project before applying. Any questions, feel free to contact anytime
    Happy Life to all!!

    Here in the fascinating blue zone of Sardinia, a place where timeless traditions connected to nature still exist, we have finally found our place to fulfill our life's purpose.

    I'd love to give you all an insight into who myself & my family are, and what we have in plan.
    francesco , lucy , eros , isaac ,
    We love to share, and I hope you enjoy reading the following.

    After several years of experiences around the world because our work and the passion of exploring in a backpacking and volunteering way,
    our Angel's decide that we were ready to be taken in Paradise...
    We spent more than 5 years looking for our spot and we found it in January 22 .
    We're in the area of a very welcoming town called Dolianova, from there only 10 min. of paved road then you're surrounded by mountains rich in water, wild life and everything else, landscapes are covered of olive trees ( as the town is famous for the prestigious olives.. ) and then you can only hear peaceful natural sound's and belt from the grazing animals.

    Our mission is to create a self sustaining family-community, building our refuge with natural materials, we like the idea to grow together as a community in a place where people can feel free again. A Place where all kind are embrace in harmony to find solutions to everybody problems, making time slows down and nature and the sun become your clock, dedicate energy, respect and love to what we make and what we eat. We decide to give other kids also a chance to get closer to Nature and learn with.. soo We are projecting to create a Forest school . Our purpose to become self sustainable following the principles of the permaculture lifestyle, we definitely want also dedicate time to the start the progectation of a few Food Forest.
    We will be cultivating to sustain ourselves and anyone who would like to join in the project,

    Sweetly neighboring a few of the approximately 10,000 nuraghe sites here. The ones in this area are currently untouched, their mystery giving them even more beauty and curiosity.

    Right now we are starting with almost 3 hectares / 7 acres of beautiful sacred land to manifest this mission.
    It is a beautiful scenic mountainside with a mix of Mediterranean bush/shrub and trees including centenarian olives trees, almond trees, wild pear, asparagus, lavender, Myrtle, mushrooms (when in season) and all what we have have been planting here for the past months.
    We are manifesting & growing very fast. We have already started planting pioneer trees, fruit trees, vegtable garden and a spiral herb garden, but we are in much need of help with the upkeep.
    There is a small building which you see in the photo below which we have slightly restored and are creating the community kitchen. Luckily for us there was already a wood oven here where we can make bread, biscuits, cakes and still to try pizza! Then we have a newbuild toilet with shower made bi cob and wood.

    Unless you're visiting us with a campers or similar,
    At the moment we only have a big double bed tent, depending of the time we may have space in roulette to share. Otherwise we can build a typical sardinian hut 🛖 made with rocks and wood but we need few days for that and volunteers.

    We are very lucky to have Francesco with us to show us good way of eating Mediterranean food us a chef we also taste the pure love.. he's really passionate about food, healthy and good quality.
    We have a close connection here with the local shepherds and hunters, providing us with all them products. we can make cheese, ricotta, yogurt and baking...We also have our olive oil from our olives..

    We can either get our drinking water from a spring 10 minutes drive away or filter our well water. Our grey water system ( water from the sink) goes into our worm farm, from that we will be channeling the water to a mushroom patch. Shower water goes into the ground, so be mindful of the products you use. We can supply natural soap.
    We have in plan to also build ponds to create diverse micro climates.

    We have finish to build a cob bathroom with a nice hot shower,

    Don’t be afraid of not having a flushing toilet and being sat outside in nature! We have a compost toilet.

    We installed a solar panel system which give us a chance to store 4 kW in our battery.

    Being off grid means taking responsibility for Our waste and water systems. We are doing our best with what we have but are always looking for ways of improvement. We are happy to take advice from experienced volunteers.

    We want to give people the chance to find their path, slow down and be in contact with mother earth and appreciate all the small gifts. It would work for all, if you come here choosing what brings you joy.

    We have a big project we'd like to fulfill, so we're sure there will be something to do that will inspire you.

    Teamwork makes the Dream Work!

    Creating a place where everyone can work together for the benefit of all.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to share with you our experience on how we are a creating an off grid life.
    Francesco has a great passion for cooking, and would be happy to share his recipes.
    We can help with your Italian or English.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    August 2022 update
    We attended a full immersion course in building with clay and will be hosting an event at the end of the month to share what we have learnt.

    After our first event was a success, we are now looking forward to all the others we shall host.

    We are needing help to prepare facilities, food and space to host guests to camp during the weekend of the event.

    Our long term goal is to create a thriving Food Forest.
    We would appreciate help with
    Planting/digging holes/swales/trenches
    Up keep of trees, vegetables & herbs
    Building a bathroom with compost toilet ( We use just a compost toilet)
    *We try to use only natural soaps and cleaning products as the grey water is used on the land*

    We have 2 beautiful children. Our little Mowgli Eros is 4 and our baby bear Isaac is 1. Any help with childcare, creating activities with them could be a great help. We are forest school enthusiasts, so don't be afraid to see a 4 year old who knows how to use an axe, saw and power tools.

    Our plan is to build and experiment with clay in various ways, so any experience in natural building would be greatly appreciated.

    We love to cook and learn new recipes, so sharing the duties of cooking can be nice if you feel it's for you.
    We are in close contact with the local hunters and shepherds, and have started making homemade yogurt, cheese, ricotta and whey. With the wood oven we have the possibility to bake our own bread and cook pizza.

    We have just adopted 3 sheep into the family, a dog & a cat, soon also to come are some chickens.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We have available a 2 man tent with a double bed & covers. We also have space for camper vans.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport: We have a car and go into town when needed, only 9 minutes drive or half an hour walk.
    We've bike

    In the town of Dolianova there are buses and trains that can take you either towards Cagliari or inland.

    We have many friend organising sailing boat or kayak excursion or fishing on boat. Surfing etc

    Cagliari is great city with plenty to do, also their are many beautiful beaches to visit.

    We are in the middle of a valley and the mountains are great for trekking, foraging, exploring and simply just enjoying the panoramic views.

    Dolianova is famous for olive oil and wine, so there are places to do tours, tasting and horse riding.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Phone service here is good, we use internet by hot spotting from our phones.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can host any size of van as we have quite a bit of land.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5-6 hours a day, 4-5 days a week - max 25

Host ref number: 599327317436

Feedback (1)



Come and help us around our boat and learn more about sailing and diving in San Vito lo Capo, Italy
English Conversation on the beach in Italy