Come and enjoy Pretoria, South Africa with us, while working with children and youth from different walks of life

Country

South Africa

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1720

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family based organisation, doing transformation & Upliftment of Youth in 2 infomal settlements.
    Our family comprises of 3 people. Myself, husband and daughter of 21 years old. We are a Christian family, loving people, the outdoors, arts, sports, fun, humour!

    I am an Educator, teaching at a High School. My daughter studies child and youth care. My husband is self-employed. We live in South Africa in it's Capital City, which is Pretoria, in the Gauteng Province.
    Pretoria is a vibrant City and it's people extremely diverse. The races mainly comprises of blacks, whites, coloureds, indians & Asians.
    Quite a lot of foreigners resides in Pretoria. The Youth of Pretoria is ambitious and self-driven, however, we work mainly with the poorest of the poor.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The resilient spirit of South Africans, in the face of challenges (stemming from the apartheid regime) --> a people of positivity, courage, faith,
    South Africa deemed as the land of sunshine, it's people the most friendliest in the world. Also,
    Learning and experiencing our country's Major change from being under an Apartheid Regime to a now Democracy.
    South Africa being the hub for other African countries in terms of better opportunities in mainly all levels of life.
    Our 11 official languages.
    Our game reserves of the most popular in the world.
    Table mountain - 2 years ago, recognised as one of the 'Wonders of the World'

  • Help

    Help

    Feeding needy, poor kids
    Preparation of meals
    Fundraising
    Assist facilitators with programme
    Play games with kids and youth
    Assist with Arts & Crafts
    Help children with school homework
    Assist with keeping premises tidy
    Assist with excursions

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The volunteer will live with our family in our house. Possible sharing with one other volunteer or youth worker. Food will be provided by us. Any other food preferences we will try to accomodate those preferences, as far as possible. However, volunteer should provide his/her own food preferences, if it is other than the host family's.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The volunteer can stay up to 1-5 months. We have private taxis as uber and public taxis, + buses. We have hiking trails, lion parks, game reserves, swimming pools, theatre, sports, art festivals, jazz festivals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 596398117615