Our finca on the border of Andalucia/Algarve, Spain always needs help from animal lovers (dogs, horses, cats) and outdoor people.



Favourited 954 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    Nice to meet you! We are Miguel (Michiel) and Maika (Maaike). We are a Dutch couple (42 and 40) living in Andalucia, Spain, since 2001. Together with our 15 dogs, 2 horses and 2 cats (all rescues) we live on a 'finca' next to the beautiful river Guadiana. Our finca is 2 hectares, but we live in the middle of nowhere without any fences and the land surrounding us is also free accessable. The land is filled with very old olive trees, fig and carob trees, orange trees and stone oaks. We produce our own extra virgen organic olive oil 'oliefje', make our own jam and chutney and eat vegetables from our garden. Michiel is fysical geographer but when he has no project to work on he installs solar panels, works at the local Zipline, or he is busy building on and improving our finca! Maaike runs an animal rescue association, writes children books and teaches young Dutch children, yoga and English. We also rent out a cosy studio in the nearby village Sanlucar de Guadiana.
    We always like to welcome new people in our lives and are very open to new ideas, new faces, new thoughts. Since we already have a busy life and many animals to look after, but also always new ideas to make our life even nicer and with more fullfillment, we can definitely use a hand realizing this! some of the projects we still want to realize are a small greenhouseof recycled plastic bottles, a sauna, a small quinoa plantation, a pool for horses... As you can see, many ideas and many projects. We can offer you a very nice and inspiring stay, good company (everybody falls in love with our dogs), a nice climate and fantastic surrounding nature. Don't hesitate to contact us...!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project

  • Help


    Care for rescue animals
    Building (mainly with wood, small projects like a terrace, a small horse stable etc)
    Gardening / farming, for example pruning olivetrees!
    natural horsemanship skills are very welcome!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    dutch, english, spanish, german, a little portugese and french

  • Accommodation


    Several possibilities: In our special guestroom just below our house (' the cave')
    In a tipi/caravan
    In an apartment/studio in the village (depending the season)
    Open air house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This area is still unspoilt, fairly quiet. We live on the border with Portugal and the Algarve is near if you like to enjoy the ocean, beach, kite surfing (Michiel can teach you), a bit more interesting nightlife and culture. Andalucia is obviously the place to be for flamenco music, Sevilla is less then a 2 hour drive.
    If you really want to be AWAY from it all, this is a very good place to come to. You might get a different view on (your) life, while and after being here with us, just because it is so different yet very natural feeling and easy going.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    between 4-5 hours, depending the day and the project

Host ref number: 595591853999